Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this dish a few weeks ago and it didn't turn out to our liking. It was very bland and it was not creamy at all. I would not recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
OK But lacks flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
***** Unbelievble. Awsome, amazing. I used to go to a restaurant in Vancouver called Bo Kong. Reminds me of some of their food. I am so happy I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, adn this came out divine. I will make this again and again. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Tasty! I pressed my tofu first, between two cutting boards, propped on a towel, draining into the sink. I also allowed the tofu to simmer longer with the other ingredients for a more blended flavor. While it is not reminiscent of beef, this is a really nice family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Mostly I'd say this recipe was edible. I just think it needed something and I'm not sure what that is. If I make this again, I'll use beef boullion as someone else did and omit the soy. As it was, I did make a few changes. Fat-free cottage cheese and reduced fat sour cream, more soy and more garlic. I also used less onion than called for because hubby doesn't like the texture. I felt that the taste of the mushrooms was completely lost so maybe more mushrooms? Hubby hasn't tried it yet, but I'd be willing to bet he'll agree with me. Really wanted to like this in spite of my apprehension over trying this recipe, but I'm just not a fan. As it has so many good reviews, it may all just be in my own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I read a few reviews that said the cottage cheese makes it an unpleasant texture. I didnt want it to turn out yucky so I played it safe and made it more traditionally. I didnt have sour cream, so I used milk and vegetable boullion instead of broth and cream. After sauteing the veggies, I added about 2 cups of milk and a boullion cube. I then simmered it down for about 15-20 mins. When it was almost done I dissolved 2 tbsp of flour in 1/3 cup milk (so it didnt get chunky) and then stirred it in to thicken the sauce. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
First recipe I've ever followed on this site. I'm not a food connoisseur, in fact I have little experience when it comes to cooking, but this looked easy enough and I had all of the ingredients. I followed the main recipe but used olive oil and didn't use the cottage cheese, and it turned out a little too watery, so maybe I'll add the cottage cheese next time. Was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I think maybe some of the problems people had was not frying the tofu well enough... that would eliminate the water issue. I kept the frying heat pretty high until the tofu was lightly browned but not dried out. I also put tomato paste in with the cheese/sour cream mixture for a bit of extra kick. This recipe has potential - it's a good update on a classic dish. YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States