Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made it exactly as written here and it was delicious! This one is going into our regular rotation. The only thing I noticed was that we didn't need to cook the whole bag of egg noodles, we had a bunch leftover. Next time I will probably only make 2/3 of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I didn't use the cottage cheese and doubled the liquids and spices. I am wondering how others had so much, even too much liquid at the end. I would have liked more actually. All in all very good just need to tweek it for more sauce. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yummy!! Everyone loved it and it's surprising how much it tastes like beef stroganof! Great flavor, thanks for a fantastic vegetarian recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I am so sorry. I tried the recipe as is, and it was just not to my liking. I tried "spicing" it up a bit, using the different variations suggested by others, and it just wouldn't work. I certainly appreciate the effort the cook made to make a different dish with tofu. It was just very bland and just not tasty. I'm so sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
this was suprisingly good. i changed a few things, first i mixed together cottage cheese and 8 oz of cream cheese, beat together with a little milk. also, twice as much soy sauce, and a handful of fresh parsley into the mix. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Guys, if you are ending up with a watery mess, you must remember to press your tofu!! This was a pretty decent meal. I only used one package of tofu. I am not a fan of cottage cheese so I also used ricotta instead. The soy sauce gave this the flavor that it needed, but if you are not a vegetarian, I would recommend adding a little beef bouillon for that extra depth. I was going to rate this 3 stars, pretty average, but since my husband loved this dish I bumped it up to 4. He has never given a big thumbs up to a vegetarian dish before! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I have made this a couple times. I have never followed the recipe exactly but it is an easy and yummy way to cook tofu and mushrooms and use up cottage cheese! I am only cooking for one so I make modifications that way. Instead of sour cream I use plain nonfat greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Recipe needs tweeking. Key to a non-goo texture is browning the tofu well on all sides and not over-stirring the stroganoff while it cooks. I used only sour cream, no beef stock but a dash of worchestershire sauce which lends a 'meaty' flavour to a recipe. There's the bones of a good recipe but as reviewers indicate, everyone will probably have their own 'take'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
5 stars with adjustments. I read comments, added more soy sauce AND, 1/4 cup of red wine, 1 TBSP of Worcestershire Sauce and a squirt of yellow mustard. (my dads old recipe) i halved this recipe, but kept the full amount of mushrooms (big fan). Turned out a little runny and i kept adding cottage cheese and sour cream until i thickened it up a bit with whole wheat flour. very excellent meatless recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I have been looking for more ways to incorporate tofu into our diet since three of us don't eat meat or poultry. We really enjoyed this recipe almost exactly the way it was written. I used whole wheat noodles. I also only used one package of tofu diced up. We will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States