Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe is off the hook! In its basic form it is really good, delicious indeed! However I did add my 2 cents to it after my initial tasting though. I added a 1/4 cup of raisins, a sprinkle each of, sea salt, coarse ground black pepper, paprika, red curry powder, ground red pepper, sesame seeds, and about 2 additional tablespoons of mayo to compensate. I swear it tastes better than any tuna, egg, or chicken salad I have ever made. I never knew it could be done better with tofu! This one, even without altering the recipe, is a keeper in my honest opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie39
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I thought the recipe called for too much dressing, so I used only 1/4c. mayo, 1Tbsp.soy sauce and 1 tsp. lemon juice. It tasted good. I am always looking for things that are easy for my teenage vegetarian kids to make for their lunches... this one's a winner! The only thing that would have made this better is if you didn't have to plan ahead and freeze the tofu. I'm afraid that it would turn out soggy though if you didn't do that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a great, simple recipe. If you don't want to freeze, you can press the drained tofu between two plates, putting some weight like a couple of cans on top of the top plate. Do this for about 30 minutes. It gets quite a bit of moisture out. Freezing is best because it actually changes the molecular structure of the tofu and gives it a firmer texture. Yummy recipe,thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
VERY GOOD. Doesn't smell like sulfur like real egg salad, so you can take this to work. But I add some curry for yellow coloring (makes it look like egg salad) and a bit of red pepper for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It is very good as is, but I wanted an alternative to the lengthy freezing step. I found if I sliced the tofu ~1/2" thick and microwaved on low for a couple of minutes until it was hot throughout, I could then press the slices between two plates and the excess water would squeeze out. A bonus was that the tofu no longer had a raw, beany taste. I also tried a seasoning variation. Instead of the mayonnaise, I used 1/3 c. Miracle Whip, and replaced the soy sauce and lemon juice with 1 Tbs. ketchup and 2 tsp. grated horseradish, for a lightly sweet/sour/zesty flavor. The ketchup makes the sandwich filling a little pink that looks appealing. Thanks, Judy, for a whole new use for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Exceptional!! Very basic recipe yet the alterations can be endless. Ran out of curry powder(as suggested by one of the reviews), so added dill instead. Can't wait to try it with curry tho'. Also, used half of the mayo the recipe called for and replaced the other half with plain yogurt. I love tuna salad sandwiches but hate to have to wait so long between having them(due to amount of mercury in tuna), this will be a great replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
probly my favorite tofu dish, the first time i made it without freezing it was soggy, but if you crush it over a paper towel you can get enough water out of it to get it tolerable if you dont have the time to freeze it, HIGH FIVE this is a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
LOVED IT!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but I didn't freeze the tofu overnight. It still turned out great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Sometimes it helps to let the dish sit overnight to let the flavors sink in but it tastes great as a sandwich and its really easy to make. I usually add less mayo because the tofu gives it enough of that whipped texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Really good! I added crushed red pepper and a pinch of salt since I used low sodium soy. Next time I'll try curry powder and maybe some cashews in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States