Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe is off the chain! I already had frozen tofu so I used that and put celery seed instead of celery cause that's what I had on hand. Additionally I put white onion instead of green and white wine vinegar with a little frozen lemon zest instead of lemon juice. I also added a bit of curry. So good! I don't even really like tofu, but I have a bunch from WIC - what a great way to use it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Use baked tofu (found at trader joes or health food stores) then you don't have to freeze and squeeze. Just crumble or mince. Also omit soy sauce and lemon (baked is already seasoned) add chopped almonds or other nuts. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
8-24-11: Had a nice taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Yum. Can't believe I'm saying this, but I really liked it. Tofu is usually not my favorite. I liked the Asian flavors. I added cilantro and one tablespoon rice vinegar to brighten it. Also added cashews for crunch. Next time would put in red pepper too. I like the idea of curry powder that others have tried, but then I would not put in the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
As written the recipe is average. I decide to scramlbe the onion celeryy and tofu together. Let it cool and then proceed. I liked this much bettr. But either way this is an excellent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Yum!! This is really good and except for the mayo, I feel good about it being healthy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
The recipe was easy and sounded good. It was close enough to chicken salad that my taste buds could not get past the notion, and kept tasting it as if it were chicken salad. I think that if you are a recent vegetarian convert, the resemblance might cause you trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
For what it is, very good. I didn't give it much hope of tasting good...maybe just acceptable. I ended up liking the basic recipe, and can't wait to try it with all the seasonings. My husband was not a fan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this was great! I used soy mayonnaise (vegenaise) tried it as is without adding additional seasoning and it was great. I look forward to adding curry powder and the like in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Really good! I added crushed red pepper and a pinch of salt since I used low sodium soy. Next time I'll try curry powder and maybe some cashews in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States