Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I used carrots rather than celery. I added ginger and salt to taste. It tasted pretty good on my spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie39
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I thought the recipe called for too much dressing, so I used only 1/4c. mayo, 1Tbsp.soy sauce and 1 tsp. lemon juice. It tasted good. I am always looking for things that are easy for my teenage vegetarian kids to make for their lunches... this one's a winner! The only thing that would have made this better is if you didn't have to plan ahead and freeze the tofu. I'm afraid that it would turn out soggy though if you didn't do that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
VERY GOOD. Doesn't smell like sulfur like real egg salad, so you can take this to work. But I add some curry for yellow coloring (makes it look like egg salad) and a bit of red pepper for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
so easy and quick! tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
My first taste of tofu & I was leary, but this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Really good! A non-vegan, non-vegetarian would still enjoy this dish. It reminds me of an egg salad. I didn't freeze the tofu, just diced it in the onion chopper. The consistency was fine. Great balance of flavors in this recipe. Thanks, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. I left out the onions and added green bell peppers and sweet pickle relish, instead of soy sauce I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos spray and Vegit seasoning with vegan mayonaise instead of regular mayonaise. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
probly my favorite tofu dish, the first time i made it without freezing it was soggy, but if you crush it over a paper towel you can get enough water out of it to get it tolerable if you dont have the time to freeze it, HIGH FIVE this is a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I really love this! Though, the freezing part was slightly annoying 'cause I wanted it right then--but worth the wait! And I was curious about the amount of soy sauce.. but really it's amazing! I'm looking forward to stuffing a pita with this! And for experimenting some with various spices and whatnot. Huge kudos to the creator of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
i don't think i'm used to eating tofu raw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States