Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
LOVED IT!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but I didn't freeze the tofu overnight. It still turned out great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe is simple yet amazing! I followed the directions but I added a stalk of celery and used white miso because that was all I had. I let is sit for a day like other reviewers has recommended, and it was SO worth the wait! My two year old gobbled it up on wheat toast with lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lahli Baum Dunham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Exceptional!! Very basic recipe yet the alterations can be endless. Ran out of curry powder(as suggested by one of the reviews), so added dill instead. Can't wait to try it with curry tho'. Also, used half of the mayo the recipe called for and replaced the other half with plain yogurt. I love tuna salad sandwiches but hate to have to wait so long between having them(due to amount of mercury in tuna), this will be a great replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good! I think you really need to freeze the tofu, so don't skip that step. It was great in wheat pita with some lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Excellent starter! It's a keeper. We have added celery salt, curry powder, mustard, pepper, or dill for a variance. The freezing technique is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a great, simple recipe. If you don't want to freeze, you can press the drained tofu between two plates, putting some weight like a couple of cans on top of the top plate. Do this for about 30 minutes. It gets quite a bit of moisture out. Freezing is best because it actually changes the molecular structure of the tofu and gives it a firmer texture. Yummy recipe,thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I am eating this as I type. It's super yummy and I used low fat mayo to make it a pinch healthier. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe is off the hook! In its basic form it is really good, delicious indeed! However I did add my 2 cents to it after my initial tasting though. I added a 1/4 cup of raisins, a sprinkle each of, sea salt, coarse ground black pepper, paprika, red curry powder, ground red pepper, sesame seeds, and about 2 additional tablespoons of mayo to compensate. I swear it tastes better than any tuna, egg, or chicken salad I have ever made. I never knew it could be done better with tofu! This one, even without altering the recipe, is a keeper in my honest opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Sometimes it helps to let the dish sit overnight to let the flavors sink in but it tastes great as a sandwich and its really easy to make. I usually add less mayo because the tofu gives it enough of that whipped texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
pretty good , just a tad dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States