Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe! I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
After years of trying to be more vegetarian, this easy recipe has made the difference in me eating tofu. I don't have to cook anything! Freezing it first definitely makes a difference in the texture, and I use a tofu press to get the water out once I've thawed it. So far I've used tamari instead of soy sauce, b/c that's what we had, and low-fat mayo. Once I've made a batch, I split it into 2 halves, for variety. For one half, I add curry (great suggestion!). For the other, I add mustard and chopped pickles, as I would tuna salad. Both are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
So......I'm a meat eater but like to eat vegetarian every once in a while. I made this for lunches at work one night, and kinda cringed while crumbling the tofu (it looked like a sponge), and then when it was time to eat it a few days later, I started dreading it. Before I tossed it out, I gave it a bite. I have to say, this is PRETTY. D@MN. TASTY (so much better than the day-of). I threw in a couple of splashes of hot sesame oil. The taste is overwhelmingly soy sauce, but I don't mind that....the tofu cost 99 cents, so this is an incredibly cheap meal. BTW, the tofu took almost a day to thaw, that's' between sitting out on the counter most of the time and in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
OMG so good! Great as is and perfect for adding other ingredients. Very nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Well, to be honest, I have never tried tofu before and quite frankly, the thought of it used to induce nausea.However, that being said, I was given 3 packs of extra firm tofu(we are poor and I guess it was cheaper for that person than buying meat, but beggars cant be choosers)so I had no choice but to figure out how to fix this stuff and feed my kids and actually make it taste edible.I found this recipe and tried it out.IM SURPRISED, it was actually good.I forgot however, to use the soy sauce until the end so when I did finally add it I didn't even measure it since half was already gone.If I had to guess, I'd say I used less than a TB but as stated most the tofu was gone already.I found the spread to be crumbly, I guess is the word, but I had extra firm and it wasn't that bad, it was not soggy at all anyway.I also had no celery so I added a little celery seed, and some dill weed too, and I did put in a dash of cayenne pepper to give it more kick but not too much my kids don't like spicy.I also added sunflower seeds for a crunch.I was going to add finely diced bell pepper but I was out of that too(again any food is a blessing).I didn't add onion either.I did freeze my tofu first though and allowed it to thaw and etc...made the difference I believe. We ate this rolled up in tortillas since we had no bread and I added cooked black beans atop and sprinkled cheese on, its good.I saved the rest and put it in the fridge and we ate it on crackers the next day it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My family loves this recipe. Exactly how it is written. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was pretty simple to make, as long as you remember to freeze and thaw your tofu beforehand. I am going to double or triple this next time. It's a great weektime lunch staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kyllburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe because it is versatile. I used 2 12-oz blocks of tofu, subbed 1/2 light miracle whip (for sweetness) plus 1/2 light mayo for the full-fat stuff, and added green and red peppers along with the veggies. Used the juice of one lemon. I could see myself always having this on hand for a meal or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I love it so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Okay, so I really do enjoy the occasional tofu and I was looking for something new to do with it. I made this and wow it was just amazing! I used a sweet onion not green and I didnt use the lemon juice and added a tad bit of curry powder. Other than that it was exact! GET THIS, all my kids ate it and loved and didnt even know it was tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States