Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
yum! A few alterations: I used 1/2 a head of red cabbage, a full block of tofu, a small bag of frozen snow peas (I sauteed them before adding to salad), spicy pepper oil instead of sesame oil, and no ginger. I pressed the tofu as was suggested and also sauteed it in a portion of the marinate. I doubled the marinate and mixed in over the cabbage and snow peas before adding the sauteed tofu. This is a new favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Don't marinate the tofu before hand. They suck up so much flavour already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
7-1-11: Ann claims to like this. 10-8-12: She really does like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
A colorful presentation! The crunchy texture adds to this light tasting salad. I love tofu (hot or cold), grew up eating tofu and so I knew I would like this salad. The first thing I do before anything is to place the firm tofu on layers of paper towels set on top of a plate, bowl or baking pan for up to one hour. This helps to get the excess water out from the tofu. This is the best way I know how to drain all the liquid from the tofu. I then clean the snow peas, blanched them in boiling water then cooled it off in ice water. I took a vegetable peeler and shaved the sides of one medium size carrot, then finely shredded a small red cabbage. As for the dressing, I made a slight variation after tasting the dressing per the recipe submitter and that was to add a little smidgen of white sugar for sweetness. I did omit the sweet chili sauce, personal preference. I doubled the amount of dressing, mixed everything, set it aside. What is nice about this dressing is that you cut down the amount of ingredients if its needed. I then cut up the tofu, layered the veggies and sprinkled some roasted peanuts on top. I poured the dressing all over. yum! Love the crunch of snow peas, cabbage, and peanuts along with the sweetness of carrots. A healthy alternative and very refreshing taste. Went great with hot rice and the "Sesame Seared Tuna" (found on this website) also a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made this recipe without any modifications and found it yummy, light, and perfect for summer. The peanuts are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was very good but I made a few changes. I followed one user's suggestion to drain the tofu by pressing and then to cube and freeze overnight followed by thawing and pan frying the next day. I had chili garlic sauce in my fridge so I used that instead of sweet chili sauce. I also left the ginger (my Husband doesn't like it) and seasame oil (my daughter is alergic to sesame) out of the marinade. I used olive oil instead of sesame oil. I also tripled the marinade. I couldn't find snow peas so I left them out. I used a package of broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. I added julienned carrot, yellow and orange bell peppers to the broccoli slaw. I also left out the peanuts because my daughter is alergic to them. With the changes it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was easy, healthy, and delicious. The kids even ate it. This will now be a part of my regular rotation. Note: I substituted Napa cabbage for the red cabbage because I had it on hand. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very tasty and nutritious. Used celery and basil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Quick and easy to prepare. I marinated the tofu for 8 hours instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily_Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States