Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
yum! A few alterations: I used 1/2 a head of red cabbage, a full block of tofu, a small bag of frozen snow peas (I sauteed them before adding to salad), spicy pepper oil instead of sesame oil, and no ginger. I pressed the tofu as was suggested and also sauteed it in a portion of the marinate. I doubled the marinate and mixed in over the cabbage and snow peas before adding the sauteed tofu. This is a new favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Don't marinate the tofu before hand. They suck up so much flavour already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
7-1-11: Ann claims to like this. 10-8-12: She really does like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
A colorful presentation! The crunchy texture adds to this light tasting salad. I love tofu (hot or cold), grew up eating tofu and so I knew I would like this salad. The first thing I do before anything is to place the firm tofu on layers of paper towels set on top of a plate, bowl or baking pan for up to one hour. This helps to get the excess water out from the tofu. This is the best way I know how to drain all the liquid from the tofu. I then clean the snow peas, blanched them in boiling water then cooled it off in ice water. I took a vegetable peeler and shaved the sides of one medium size carrot, then finely shredded a small red cabbage. As for the dressing, I made a slight variation after tasting the dressing per the recipe submitter and that was to add a little smidgen of white sugar for sweetness. I did omit the sweet chili sauce, personal preference. I doubled the amount of dressing, mixed everything, set it aside. What is nice about this dressing is that you cut down the amount of ingredients if its needed. I then cut up the tofu, layered the veggies and sprinkled some roasted peanuts on top. I poured the dressing all over. yum! Love the crunch of snow peas, cabbage, and peanuts along with the sweetness of carrots. A healthy alternative and very refreshing taste. Went great with hot rice and the "Sesame Seared Tuna" (found on this website) also a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made this recipe without any modifications and found it yummy, light, and perfect for summer. The peanuts are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was very good but I made a few changes. I followed one user's suggestion to drain the tofu by pressing and then to cube and freeze overnight followed by thawing and pan frying the next day. I had chili garlic sauce in my fridge so I used that instead of sweet chili sauce. I also left the ginger (my Husband doesn't like it) and seasame oil (my daughter is alergic to sesame) out of the marinade. I used olive oil instead of sesame oil. I also tripled the marinade. I couldn't find snow peas so I left them out. I used a package of broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. I added julienned carrot, yellow and orange bell peppers to the broccoli slaw. I also left out the peanuts because my daughter is alergic to them. With the changes it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was easy, healthy, and delicious. The kids even ate it. This will now be a part of my regular rotation. Note: I substituted Napa cabbage for the red cabbage because I had it on hand. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very tasty and nutritious. Used celery and basil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netdesign

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Quick and easy to prepare. I marinated the tofu for 8 hours instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily_Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States