Tofu Quiche with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Fabu! This stuff was just great. We didn't have parsley or dijon mustard (just the "normal" kind) and we added in some mushrooms and a few egg whites to make it a bit more "stable". We also had no pie crust, so we used hashbrowns (no grated, which we'd do next time!) In the future (and there will be a future!) we'll add tomato, and possibly a bit more cheese (including a bit of cheddar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It didn't really set so it didn't hold together very well. I might be partly to blame for this because I didn't really blend the tofu mixture - just stirred it all together with a fork. But if I were to try it again I think I'd add an egg just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a great tofu recipe... especially if you are looking for something to make to change a tofu skeptic. I added more veggies - steamed cauliflower with the broccoli, sauteed mushrooms with the onions, and added a diced roasted red pepper. I also added asiago cheese to the tofu mixture as well as sprinkling it on top. Since I don't really do pie crust (never comes out right and I don't like storebought) I did a crust with wholewheat couscous. It was easy and tasty(plus it has a lot less fat than pie crust). Mix cooked couscous (make sure it's pretty dry) with salt, parsley or other herbs, and a couple egg whites. Pat it into place like a graham-cracker crumb crust into an oiled or cooking-sprayed pie plate. Bake it for ten minutes at 350 before adding the quiche ingredients. Thanks for a fun, flexible recipe. Can't wait to try other "filling" combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by West End Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I used the basic recipe, but with real milk, some cheddar cheese, and HAM! It's not like quiche, but like a nice casserole. Satisfies the quiche craving, but without all the grease of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this recipe without the cheese for a lunch that had a vegan population, and they really loved it (not to mention, appreciated the effort!). I didn't try it myself, but I made three and there wasn't a bit left. Those who ate it said that the texture was just like a real quiche, and the broccoli was really yummy. I used a homemade shortening-based pie crust. I'm glad to have this recipe in case it's needed for occassions such as this again. Doubt I'd make it for myself because I looooove quiche lorraine so much! I was worried when I made this that the filling was way too thick and almost added some more liquid, but I'm glad I didn't. I forgot that this wasn't going to "set" like an egg-based quiche. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This was so good! WOW! I made it with frozen chopped spinach instead of broccoli and it was wonderful. I had to add a little more soy milk then called for because I couldn't get it all mixed in my blender. I didn't add the red pepper, just the nutmeg, salt, and black pepper. Couldn't even tell there was tofu in it. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I was really excited to try this recipe based on the other readers' reviews, but it was so awful tasting that my boyfriend & I both couldn't eat it. I threw the whole thing out - what a waste. I don't know if it's just that we're not used to the taste of soy milk, as the only time I drink it is in the odd latte, but it was the only thing I could taste in the dish. Maybe the milk was bad? In any case, I won't be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Excellent! Consistency was great too. I added a little more dijon mustard. I've had trouble with egg quiches separating, but not this one. Wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Thanks to the person that suggested a hash brown crust. Great idea, Thanks! When I tasted the tofu mixture in the blender, it seemed a little bland so I added extra salt, mustard and spices. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This quiche was delicious. My husband and I took some advice of other reviewers and added sauteed bell peppers along with the onion and garlic. We also added a about 2 tablespoons of jack cheese. This was our first experience with a tofu quiche and we will definitely cook it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States