Tofu Quiche with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It didn't really set so it didn't hold together very well. I might be partly to blame for this because I didn't really blend the tofu mixture - just stirred it all together with a fork. But if I were to try it again I think I'd add an egg just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a great tofu recipe... especially if you are looking for something to make to change a tofu skeptic. I added more veggies - steamed cauliflower with the broccoli, sauteed mushrooms with the onions, and added a diced roasted red pepper. I also added asiago cheese to the tofu mixture as well as sprinkling it on top. Since I don't really do pie crust (never comes out right and I don't like storebought) I did a crust with wholewheat couscous. It was easy and tasty(plus it has a lot less fat than pie crust). Mix cooked couscous (make sure it's pretty dry) with salt, parsley or other herbs, and a couple egg whites. Pat it into place like a graham-cracker crumb crust into an oiled or cooking-sprayed pie plate. Bake it for ten minutes at 350 before adding the quiche ingredients. Thanks for a fun, flexible recipe. Can't wait to try other "filling" combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by West End Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I used the basic recipe, but with real milk, some cheddar cheese, and HAM! It's not like quiche, but like a nice casserole. Satisfies the quiche craving, but without all the grease of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this recipe without the cheese for a lunch that had a vegan population, and they really loved it (not to mention, appreciated the effort!). I didn't try it myself, but I made three and there wasn't a bit left. Those who ate it said that the texture was just like a real quiche, and the broccoli was really yummy. I used a homemade shortening-based pie crust. I'm glad to have this recipe in case it's needed for occassions such as this again. Doubt I'd make it for myself because I looooove quiche lorraine so much! I was worried when I made this that the filling was way too thick and almost added some more liquid, but I'm glad I didn't. I forgot that this wasn't going to "set" like an egg-based quiche. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This was so good! WOW! I made it with frozen chopped spinach instead of broccoli and it was wonderful. I had to add a little more soy milk then called for because I couldn't get it all mixed in my blender. I didn't add the red pepper, just the nutmeg, salt, and black pepper. Couldn't even tell there was tofu in it. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I was really excited to try this recipe based on the other readers' reviews, but it was so awful tasting that my boyfriend & I both couldn't eat it. I threw the whole thing out - what a waste. I don't know if it's just that we're not used to the taste of soy milk, as the only time I drink it is in the odd latte, but it was the only thing I could taste in the dish. Maybe the milk was bad? In any case, I won't be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Excellent! Consistency was great too. I added a little more dijon mustard. I've had trouble with egg quiches separating, but not this one. Wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Thanks to the person that suggested a hash brown crust. Great idea, Thanks! When I tasted the tofu mixture in the blender, it seemed a little bland so I added extra salt, mustard and spices. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This quiche was delicious. My husband and I took some advice of other reviewers and added sauteed bell peppers along with the onion and garlic. We also added a about 2 tablespoons of jack cheese. This was our first experience with a tofu quiche and we will definitely cook it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Very Yummy-my husband had no idea it was tofu. I used a bag of mixed vegetables and no crust of any kind and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States