Tofu Quiche with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a great tofu recipe... especially if you are looking for something to make to change a tofu skeptic. I added more veggies - steamed cauliflower with the broccoli, sauteed mushrooms with the onions, and added a diced roasted red pepper. I also added asiago cheese to the tofu mixture as well as sprinkling it on top. Since I don't really do pie crust (never comes out right and I don't like storebought) I did a crust with wholewheat couscous. It was easy and tasty(plus it has a lot less fat than pie crust). Mix cooked couscous (make sure it's pretty dry) with salt, parsley or other herbs, and a couple egg whites. Pat it into place like a graham-cracker crumb crust into an oiled or cooking-sprayed pie plate. Bake it for ten minutes at 350 before adding the quiche ingredients. Thanks for a fun, flexible recipe. Can't wait to try other "filling" combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by West End Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was easy and healthy, since I used a "crust" of frozen uncooked hash browns that I'd pre-baked for about 8 minutes. It went together smoothlyand without much fuss; even my skeptical fiance enjoyed it. The mustard and onions really work in this, and I added a little shredded cheddar on top for extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Very Yummy-my husband had no idea it was tofu. I used a bag of mixed vegetables and no crust of any kind and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
My broccoli wasn't the freshest and I used silken tofu instead of firm, and the quiche still turned out very good. The texture wasn't quite like a typical quiche (perhaps because I used the silken tofu), but overall it was successful and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this recipe without the cheese for a lunch that had a vegan population, and they really loved it (not to mention, appreciated the effort!). I didn't try it myself, but I made three and there wasn't a bit left. Those who ate it said that the texture was just like a real quiche, and the broccoli was really yummy. I used a homemade shortening-based pie crust. I'm glad to have this recipe in case it's needed for occassions such as this again. Doubt I'd make it for myself because I looooove quiche lorraine so much! I was worried when I made this that the filling was way too thick and almost added some more liquid, but I'm glad I didn't. I forgot that this wasn't going to "set" like an egg-based quiche. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. One thing I will change next time (and that's because of personal taste) is to put red pepper to taste as opposed to 1/2 a teaspoon. I actually only used a 1/4 teaspoon and it was still to spicy for me. My co-worker whom I brought a piece to loved it too but she found that it could have used more red pepper. Go figure! Definitely think this should be "red pepper to taste" like the recipe calls for black pepper. Will definitely make this one again and serve it to my friends to see if they can tell it's made from tofu! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Next time I would leave out the nutmeg, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Fabulous!! we have egg allergies and so have never done a quiche, but I was in the mood for something different and we try to go meatless a couple of times a week. Everyone ate it...the kids were less enthusiastic than the parents, but they ate it!! Like others, I did a potato crust, simply thinly slicing a russet and overlapping on the bottom and sides of the pie plate. Baked for @ 15 min. and then filled and baked. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claeli69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
wow, great recipe - even I couldn't screw it up! (I never seem to have all the ingredients when I cook, so I end up experimentally substituting things). I only had a 13oz bag of frozen broccoli, so threw in some frozen mixed bell pepper strips (tho I chopped them into smaller pieces). I don't have a food processor so I mashed the tofu up in a bowl. The only "spices" I had were ground black pepper and garlic powder. I had some left over salsa, so I threw that in in lieu of the ground red pepper. I saw some grape tomatoes in the fridge, and chopped up a small handful of those as well. And I only had about a quarter cup of chopped red onion. (I kinda steamed the broccoli and peppers together with the onion and garlic powder to thaw them out a little before adding them) After mixing it all together, it seemed sort of crumbly and I was worried it wouldn't "gel", so I added two eggs (I think that is what binds it together?). I also added a small amount of whole wheat flour (it was called for in another quiche recipe, so I thought I'd try it). And then that still didn't look right to me, so I added a small amount of soy milk. After I put it in a pie crust I found some parmesan cheese mix that had come in a bag of frozen ravioli, so I sprinkled that on top. Miraculously it actually tasted really good! I wish I had measured everything so I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This quiche was surprisingly good (I was a bit nervous, using all that tofu). I only had 12 oz of tofu, and 14 oz of broccoli, but it really was enough. I added a handful of shredded cheddar in the mix, and topped the quiche with more cheese. My husband liked it a lot, but said it wouldn't have been so good without the melted, crispy cheese on top. I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States