Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Great recipe changed it a bit added 1 tsp chinese 5 spice to the veggies. I also used raw veggies, green & red pepper, broccoli, mushrooms, kale chopped fine,1 zucchini cooked until tender Only veggies i had, then added 1 scallion chopped 1/2 red onion chopped 2 green onions 1 cup of bean sprouts tossed only to mix in. Cooked the tofu as per the recipe but added some more chinese 5 spice 1/2 tsp. Also 1/2 tsp sambal oelek (HOT) for heat. cooked as per recipe then added (homemade peanut sauce) 1/2 cup whole almonds. Stir in cooked veggies serve. So good no need for any side rice or veggies. Even my 6 & 7 year old liked it. Great recipe thanks Ani. Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisandreasings
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I do not hesitate in giving this recipe five stars. My son loves cooked carrots, tofu & peanut butter--so to throw all those flavors together into one recipe turned out to be a real HIT with my preschooler. That means we were able to get peas, broccoli & water chestnuts into him unawares with the fabulous coating of peanut sauce. My husband upped the hot sauce on his serving tableside, my son did not consider his own as-is serving too spicy, & this is a wheat-free recipe (for me), so it won all all fronts! We loved the textures with the fried tofu over rice vermicelli and the crunch of crushed peanuts. NOTE--there is a lot of peanut in here, so if you have even the slightest sensitivity, beware. 2nd note--the time to make this is underestimated. It took lots of prep time--namely making the peanut sauce (I used a recipe from a Stir Fry book, which tasted delicious, but required some food processing). A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Taste good. I think the taste really depends on the peanut sauce you use so use a good one. Tofu takes a lot longer than 5 minutes to brown. I used fresh green beans, brocolli, carrots and green onion. The tofu is also good just fried without the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I really enjoyed this dish. A few tips: (1) Use FIRM to EXTRA FIRM TOFU (a response to those complaining about it "falling apart"); I used MEDIUM: that's all I had. (2) I took some frozen green beans, thawed them, cut onions, added celery, salt and FRESH ginger. Great vegetable dish. (3) My minor complaint: too much oil, so I will probably use 1/4 C oil next time. (4) If you have a Trader Joe's in your area, i would strongly suggest using their Peanut Sauce. Fabulous! I only have about 1 TBSP left over, but it was great. I now know to not use too much sauce next I make this dish. Good luck and thanks for reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very good, I loved the way the tofu texture turned out. I used fresh veggies but other than that followed the recipe I didn't have any trouble with the tofu sticking, something I worried about from previous experence. I used a non stick wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
A resounding success as our first attempt at a dish with tofu. My husband raved about it, and he was very skeptical beforehand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is a really tasty dish, my husband (who never gets excited over tofu) even liked it. I forgot the ginger and didn't miss it. My vegetable blend had sugarsnap peas, carrots, mushrooms and onions and it fit into the recipe nicely. I served with brown basmati rice. I will keep this one in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is excellent..The only way to eat tofu. Even my children who do notlike tofu loved this. I added 2 cloves garlic, 1 Tablespoon of fresh ginger and also cut up my own stir fry vegetables. Great and thanks for a wonderful way to eat tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My husband gave this recipe an A+. I used fresh vegetables and forgot to add the ginger, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Wow! I was a bit skeptical about the combination, but this dish was SO good. My husband and I both really loved it. I omitted the eggs, just fried the tofu in a thin layer of olive oil until crispy, then added the peanut sauce. For veggies I used carrots, onions, water chestnuts, baby corn & snap peas over brown rice. I would recommend this recipe to anyone, vegetarian or not!!! I plan to serve this next time I have company over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States