Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
A resounding success as our first attempt at a dish with tofu. My husband raved about it, and he was very skeptical beforehand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Great recipe changed it a bit added 1 tsp chinese 5 spice to the veggies. I also used raw veggies, green & red pepper, broccoli, mushrooms, kale chopped fine,1 zucchini cooked until tender Only veggies i had, then added 1 scallion chopped 1/2 red onion chopped 2 green onions 1 cup of bean sprouts tossed only to mix in. Cooked the tofu as per the recipe but added some more chinese 5 spice 1/2 tsp. Also 1/2 tsp sambal oelek (HOT) for heat. cooked as per recipe then added (homemade peanut sauce) 1/2 cup whole almonds. Stir in cooked veggies serve. So good no need for any side rice or veggies. Even my 6 & 7 year old liked it. Great recipe thanks Ani. Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I really enjoyed this dish. A few tips: (1) Use FIRM to EXTRA FIRM TOFU (a response to those complaining about it "falling apart"); I used MEDIUM: that's all I had. (2) I took some frozen green beans, thawed them, cut onions, added celery, salt and FRESH ginger. Great vegetable dish. (3) My minor complaint: too much oil, so I will probably use 1/4 C oil next time. (4) If you have a Trader Joe's in your area, i would strongly suggest using their Peanut Sauce. Fabulous! I only have about 1 TBSP left over, but it was great. I now know to not use too much sauce next I make this dish. Good luck and thanks for reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is a really tasty dish, my husband (who never gets excited over tofu) even liked it. I forgot the ginger and didn't miss it. My vegetable blend had sugarsnap peas, carrots, mushrooms and onions and it fit into the recipe nicely. I served with brown basmati rice. I will keep this one in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisandreasings
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I do not hesitate in giving this recipe five stars. My son loves cooked carrots, tofu & peanut butter--so to throw all those flavors together into one recipe turned out to be a real HIT with my preschooler. That means we were able to get peas, broccoli & water chestnuts into him unawares with the fabulous coating of peanut sauce. My husband upped the hot sauce on his serving tableside, my son did not consider his own as-is serving too spicy, & this is a wheat-free recipe (for me), so it won all all fronts! We loved the textures with the fried tofu over rice vermicelli and the crunch of crushed peanuts. NOTE--there is a lot of peanut in here, so if you have even the slightest sensitivity, beware. 2nd note--the time to make this is underestimated. It took lots of prep time--namely making the peanut sauce (I used a recipe from a Stir Fry book, which tasted delicious, but required some food processing). A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is excellent..The only way to eat tofu. Even my children who do notlike tofu loved this. I added 2 cloves garlic, 1 Tablespoon of fresh ginger and also cut up my own stir fry vegetables. Great and thanks for a wonderful way to eat tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very good, I loved the way the tofu texture turned out. I used fresh veggies but other than that followed the recipe I didn't have any trouble with the tofu sticking, something I worried about from previous experence. I used a non stick wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My husband gave this recipe an A+. I used fresh vegetables and forgot to add the ginger, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Wow! I was a bit skeptical about the combination, but this dish was SO good. My husband and I both really loved it. I omitted the eggs, just fried the tofu in a thin layer of olive oil until crispy, then added the peanut sauce. For veggies I used carrots, onions, water chestnuts, baby corn & snap peas over brown rice. I would recommend this recipe to anyone, vegetarian or not!!! I plan to serve this next time I have company over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Taste good. I think the taste really depends on the peanut sauce you use so use a good one. Tofu takes a lot longer than 5 minutes to brown. I used fresh green beans, brocolli, carrots and green onion. The tofu is also good just fried without the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States