Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a good and easy recipe that was enjoyed by our whole family. Peanut sauce was not used, we used a thai marinade sauce which more preferable to our palettes since one of our family members has an allergy to peanuts. I would make this again. It was served with steamed rice, orange chicken (from this site) and singapore noodles (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great flavor and texture! Quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe was totally edible and my husband and I both liked it, but we are both of the opinion that peanut sauces simply go better with noodle dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was almost great. The problem may have been my own and not the recipe's. The tofu was nice and crunchy until I added it to the vegetables. Then it got soggy. May just add it as a side dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I needed something to finish up my home-made peanut sauce in the fridge, and this fit nicely. A couple of suggestions though: I cut my tofu too big, and I think that it should be cut into smaller cubes, as it absorbs more flavour. I stir-fried the veggies with sesame oil and soya sauce, and than added them back to the tofu mixture for more flavour. Personally, I thought it needed a bit more spice. I will make this again, but next time I'll probablly add five spice powder as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was a great recipe -- I followed it exactly, but found that it took closer to 15 minutes, rather than 5, to brown the tofu. The tofu coating was nice and crispy. I also used a bit of soy sauce when stir-frying the veggies, which was a nice addition, and served everything over jasmine rice. When I make this again (and I will!), I plan to use extra firm tofu; firm tofu held up just fine, but I prefer the texture of extra-firm in stir fry. Also, I will try making my own peanut sauce, since the bottled stuff is never as good. Wonderful quick, easy, cheap recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Pleasantly surprised. Not really a big fan of peanut-y things so I was really pleased at how much I enjoyed it. Served it at a dinner party and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This was OK. It was quick and easy to make,but flavor was just not there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This turned out to be a great dish. My only qualm with it was the ridiculously understated cooking time. 5 minutes at medium heat? For me it took about 25-30 minutes and I ended up turning the heat up to medium high. I also recommend using soy sauce while cooking the veggies. Also taste your peanut sauce, I used Thai Peanut Dressing and it turned out to be a tad on the tart side. In the end the meal was very good though. One of the few things my girlfriend ate an entire plate of. That definitely says something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
We loved this and declared it "restaurant good." We used fresh veggies (snow peas, mushrooms, onion, red pepper, green onions). I did not batter the tofu, just soaked it in soy sauce and sauteed it. I made my own peanut sauce from this recipe: 3/4 cup light coconut milk, 1 tsp. red curry, 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter, 2 Tbs. brown or raw sugar, 1 Tbs. lemon juice, 1/4 tsp. salt. It was a little sweet, so I recommend less sugar and adding some pepper flakes or paprika. Making your own peanut sauce ensures the sauce is vegetarian, which many store-bought ones are not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States