Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Excellent tofu!! (To make sure the tofu didn't fall apart in the wok, I placed the tofu block under a cookie sheet with a coffee can on top to weight it down. I let it sit for probably 45 minutes. That squeezed out all the excess water.) The veggies were a little on the plain side because they're stir-fried with no sauce, so I added some soy sauce to taste at serving time. I will definitely keep this recipe for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
A resounding success as our first attempt at a dish with tofu. My husband raved about it, and he was very skeptical beforehand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My family and I just do not like the flavor of the peanut sauce, the tofu and veggies were great by themselves. I do not think there is a problem with the recipe but rather our tastebuds not being aquainted with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is a really tasty dish, my husband (who never gets excited over tofu) even liked it. I forgot the ginger and didn't miss it. My vegetable blend had sugarsnap peas, carrots, mushrooms and onions and it fit into the recipe nicely. I served with brown basmati rice. I will keep this one in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Great recipe changed it a bit added 1 tsp chinese 5 spice to the veggies. I also used raw veggies, green & red pepper, broccoli, mushrooms, kale chopped fine,1 zucchini cooked until tender Only veggies i had, then added 1 scallion chopped 1/2 red onion chopped 2 green onions 1 cup of bean sprouts tossed only to mix in. Cooked the tofu as per the recipe but added some more chinese 5 spice 1/2 tsp. Also 1/2 tsp sambal oelek (HOT) for heat. cooked as per recipe then added (homemade peanut sauce) 1/2 cup whole almonds. Stir in cooked veggies serve. So good no need for any side rice or veggies. Even my 6 & 7 year old liked it. Great recipe thanks Ani. Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I love peanut sauce and asian food...but this is a good example of why I go out to get it! What a nightmare! The tofu was sticking and kept falling apart, keeping it from getting crisp on the outside. The flavor rocked...but my inability to cook the tofu ruined it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I love this recipe but found it took a little longer to make than the recipe states. Next time i would just cut the tofu into fingers, coat and cook them, then cut into cubes. I used the recipe for Best Peanut Sauce which i found on allrecipes and it made the perfect mix of flavours. will definatly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This is absolutely delicious! It's become our favorite way to eat tofu! Turns out fine if you don't have ginger on hand, but it's better with it. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to try tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I really enjoyed making and eating this dish. I think that the tofu was perfect. I did only use 1/4 cup of oil instead, still came out great. I would highly reccomened this to anyone, even those who don't care for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jane21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I really enjoyed this dish. A few tips: (1) Use FIRM to EXTRA FIRM TOFU (a response to those complaining about it "falling apart"); I used MEDIUM: that's all I had. (2) I took some frozen green beans, thawed them, cut onions, added celery, salt and FRESH ginger. Great vegetable dish. (3) My minor complaint: too much oil, so I will probably use 1/4 C oil next time. (4) If you have a Trader Joe's in your area, i would strongly suggest using their Peanut Sauce. Fabulous! I only have about 1 TBSP left over, but it was great. I now know to not use too much sauce next I make this dish. Good luck and thanks for reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States