Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is hands-down the tastiest tofu recipe I've ever made - my husband and I love it! It's messy to coat the tofu with the cornstarch mixture, but so worth the clean-up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matilda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
As a vegetarian (10 months and going strong!), I was anxious to eat something rich and hearty today. I absolutely love Thai coconut curries and soups, so this recipe was very appealing to me. My local grocery store didn't have any peanut sauce by the jar. Instead, I found Taste of Thai® brand Peanut Sauce Mix- which was a package of 2 envelopes of powder. The directions say to mix both envelopes of mix with 1 can of coconut milk to yield 2 cups of sauce, so I used 1 packet with about 3/4 can of coconut milk to make more sauce. I fried the tofu over HIGH heat because it was taking more than 5 minutes to turn golden brown over medium heat. Another thing: I looked at how much oil was left in the pan and decided to drain off ALL OF IT! After I got rid of the oil, I drained the fried tofu onto some paper towels and proceeded to make the sauce in the same wok until it thickened. I then added the fried tofu along with the veggies. I used frozen stir fry veggies, and I didn't care for the wet, soggy texture. I would definitely use fresh veggies next time for a more desireable al dente texture. All in all, great flavor, but I have to admit I regretted not being generous with the ginger. I would use 1 HEAPING tbs. of minced ginger next time. This stir-fry was served with brown rice. Could do without rice or noodles... easily. All that tofu really fills you up. THIS IS A DELICIOUS STICK-TO-YOUR-RIBS type of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is my favorite tofu recipe by far. I used half the amount of cornstarch and omitted the frozen vegetables, using sliced red pepper, broccoli and bias cut carrots instead. I also cooked the veggies in a little soy and hoison sauce. Unfortunately the peanut sauce I used was too spice for my kids but I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The sauce was decent, but the batter was awful. It wouldn't stick to the tofu and simply created a nasty paste enveloping non-crispy tofu chunks. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Good recipe. I fixed this for my boyfriend and I. Garnished it with green onion and fresh cilantro and served with rice noodles. Delicious. Also added crushed red pepper flakes to the peanut sauce and tofu, since we like ours a bit on the spicy side. Thought the tofu could have used more sauce for our liking, as we had to add more to our plates. And as another reviewer mentioned, there was too much oil when frying the tofu; I had to strain off the excess. I would use 1/4 c. oil instead of 1/2 c. But overall a good recipe. I imagine I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Schlueter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I did not like this at all, and I really like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Really great~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Really good flavor. I found the coating of the tofu to be unnecessary. Next time I will cook the tofu, uncoated, using about 1/4 of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this tonight. It was a hit and it tasted oh so good! I didn't change the recipe at all but I did add some mushrooms, because I had them. Excellent dish--I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Using flower instead of cornstarch helped a lot! And only 1/2 the amount of oil was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States