Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is my favorite tofu recipe by far. I used half the amount of cornstarch and omitted the frozen vegetables, using sliced red pepper, broccoli and bias cut carrots instead. I also cooked the veggies in a little soy and hoison sauce. Unfortunately the peanut sauce I used was too spice for my kids but I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The sauce was decent, but the batter was awful. It wouldn't stick to the tofu and simply created a nasty paste enveloping non-crispy tofu chunks. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Good recipe. I fixed this for my boyfriend and I. Garnished it with green onion and fresh cilantro and served with rice noodles. Delicious. Also added crushed red pepper flakes to the peanut sauce and tofu, since we like ours a bit on the spicy side. Thought the tofu could have used more sauce for our liking, as we had to add more to our plates. And as another reviewer mentioned, there was too much oil when frying the tofu; I had to strain off the excess. I would use 1/4 c. oil instead of 1/2 c. But overall a good recipe. I imagine I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Schlueter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I did not like this at all, and I really like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Really great~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Really good flavor. I found the coating of the tofu to be unnecessary. Next time I will cook the tofu, uncoated, using about 1/4 of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this tonight. It was a hit and it tasted oh so good! I didn't change the recipe at all but I did add some mushrooms, because I had them. Excellent dish--I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Using flower instead of cornstarch helped a lot! And only 1/2 the amount of oil was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly (other than using fresh veggies vs. the frozen ones) and it even came out looking just like the picture. However, it tasted like cornstarch. My understanding is that tofu absorbs the flavors around it, but in this recipe, the only flavor around the tofu as it cooks is cornstarch. Obviously plenty of other people like this recipe, but I won't me making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I used flour because I didn't have cornstarch on hand but the tofu still turned out great. I also used jasmine rice and the whole bottle of peanut sauce. After cooking the tofu and adding the sauce I mixed the veggies, peanuts, and more peanut sauce into the wok before serving over rice. I will be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States