Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It was delicious. I just needed a way for the breading to stay on better and for the tofu not to crumble, but taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Lobes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just okay, for the amount of work it takes to fry the tofu - it took three batches - I do not really think the end product was worth the effort. Although we ate it I will not make this again. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
As a vegetarian newbie, I was excited to try this recipe for tofu which I have not been able to cook satisfactorily. This recipe was a disaster. Even after I pressed and drained the tofu, it fell apart when I put it in the egg and then sopped up the entire cup of cornstarch resulting in a glewy homogenous mass that stuck to the pan and did not brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Tofu dishes are often bland, but this one is nice. I skipped the eggs and just coated the tofu with cornstarch. It browned pretty quickly. I prefer to use just fresh vegetables and I also added a little hot pepper and garlic to give it more flavor. A bit of a clean-up involved (no matter what I do, the cornstarch winds up everywhere) but otherwise not too much work. Love the peanuts in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious! My husband couldn't stop raving about it. I just made a few revisions -- I didn't have any tofu on hand, so instead swapped in 3 vegetarian chicken breasts. I used flour instead of cornstarch, and less than a 1/4 cup of oil, as a 1/2 cup seemed like too much. I also added some fresh red and yellow peppers and water chestnuts to the frozen veg mix. Turned out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe. It is a very tasty dish without a lot of work. It's not easy to find vegetarian dishes this tasty that don't involve a lot of prep time or a lot of ingredients. I didn't know the tofu pieces would expand as much as they did when they cooked, so I would advise that you cut the tofu into pieces that are quite small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Loved this method for cooking the tofu. But one egg is plenty for a 14 oz package of tofu. And 1/4 cup of oil is enough for frying it. Like others, I used fresh veggies and I used pre-made peanut sauce from House of Tsang (found at the grocery in the Asian section.) We could easily have this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I used a Thai peanut sauce and fresh veggies (broccoli, bamboo shoots, zucchini, sprouts, mushrooms), added fresh minced garlic and canned ginger. After frying all the tofu (about five batches in a wok), cleaned the wok out, put all tofu in, added peanuts and sauce, and finally, the already cooked veggies. GREAT taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
The best tofu recipe ever! We love it and make it all the time. I use whatever veggies I have in the fridge and it's awesome every time. We can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Prep time says 15 minutes, but apparently doesn't include the time it takes to make the sauce. Just a lot more work than I expected. Oddly, I am usually the one that likes new dishes and husband doesn't, but this time he liked it and I just didn't care for the taste. Not the worst thing I ever had, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States