Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very tasty. Followed the recipe as written. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
It was good but I will definately do less peanut sauce and tofu next time. It was very overpowering for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Wonderful flavors. I took a combination of suggestions: Fresh veggies, stir fried with chinese 5 spice in very little canola oil. Added tofu (not fried) that had been flavored with 5 spice and a touch of Kecap (a sweet soy sauce). Served this mix over a bed of asian noodles with the "The best Thai Curry Peanut sauce" (from this website) as suggested. You will make this again and the fat content has been cut back drastically so enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It was delicious. I just needed a way for the breading to stay on better and for the tofu not to crumble, but taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just okay, for the amount of work it takes to fry the tofu - it took three batches - I do not really think the end product was worth the effort. Although we ate it I will not make this again. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
As a vegetarian newbie, I was excited to try this recipe for tofu which I have not been able to cook satisfactorily. This recipe was a disaster. Even after I pressed and drained the tofu, it fell apart when I put it in the egg and then sopped up the entire cup of cornstarch resulting in a glewy homogenous mass that stuck to the pan and did not brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Tofu dishes are often bland, but this one is nice. I skipped the eggs and just coated the tofu with cornstarch. It browned pretty quickly. I prefer to use just fresh vegetables and I also added a little hot pepper and garlic to give it more flavor. A bit of a clean-up involved (no matter what I do, the cornstarch winds up everywhere) but otherwise not too much work. Love the peanuts in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious! My husband couldn't stop raving about it. I just made a few revisions -- I didn't have any tofu on hand, so instead swapped in 3 vegetarian chicken breasts. I used flour instead of cornstarch, and less than a 1/4 cup of oil, as a 1/2 cup seemed like too much. I also added some fresh red and yellow peppers and water chestnuts to the frozen veg mix. Turned out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe. It is a very tasty dish without a lot of work. It's not easy to find vegetarian dishes this tasty that don't involve a lot of prep time or a lot of ingredients. I didn't know the tofu pieces would expand as much as they did when they cooked, so I would advise that you cut the tofu into pieces that are quite small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Loved this method for cooking the tofu. But one egg is plenty for a 14 oz package of tofu. And 1/4 cup of oil is enough for frying it. Like others, I used fresh veggies and I used pre-made peanut sauce from House of Tsang (found at the grocery in the Asian section.) We could easily have this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States