Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It was delicious. I just needed a way for the breading to stay on better and for the tofu not to crumble, but taste was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just okay, for the amount of work it takes to fry the tofu - it took three batches - I do not really think the end product was worth the effort. Although we ate it I will not make this again. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
As a vegetarian newbie, I was excited to try this recipe for tofu which I have not been able to cook satisfactorily. This recipe was a disaster. Even after I pressed and drained the tofu, it fell apart when I put it in the egg and then sopped up the entire cup of cornstarch resulting in a glewy homogenous mass that stuck to the pan and did not brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Tofu dishes are often bland, but this one is nice. I skipped the eggs and just coated the tofu with cornstarch. It browned pretty quickly. I prefer to use just fresh vegetables and I also added a little hot pepper and garlic to give it more flavor. A bit of a clean-up involved (no matter what I do, the cornstarch winds up everywhere) but otherwise not too much work. Love the peanuts in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious! My husband couldn't stop raving about it. I just made a few revisions -- I didn't have any tofu on hand, so instead swapped in 3 vegetarian chicken breasts. I used flour instead of cornstarch, and less than a 1/4 cup of oil, as a 1/2 cup seemed like too much. I also added some fresh red and yellow peppers and water chestnuts to the frozen veg mix. Turned out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe. It is a very tasty dish without a lot of work. It's not easy to find vegetarian dishes this tasty that don't involve a lot of prep time or a lot of ingredients. I didn't know the tofu pieces would expand as much as they did when they cooked, so I would advise that you cut the tofu into pieces that are quite small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Loved this method for cooking the tofu. But one egg is plenty for a 14 oz package of tofu. And 1/4 cup of oil is enough for frying it. Like others, I used fresh veggies and I used pre-made peanut sauce from House of Tsang (found at the grocery in the Asian section.) We could easily have this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I used a Thai peanut sauce and fresh veggies (broccoli, bamboo shoots, zucchini, sprouts, mushrooms), added fresh minced garlic and canned ginger. After frying all the tofu (about five batches in a wok), cleaned the wok out, put all tofu in, added peanuts and sauce, and finally, the already cooked veggies. GREAT taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
The best tofu recipe ever! We love it and make it all the time. I use whatever veggies I have in the fridge and it's awesome every time. We can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Prep time says 15 minutes, but apparently doesn't include the time it takes to make the sauce. Just a lot more work than I expected. Oddly, I am usually the one that likes new dishes and husband doesn't, but this time he liked it and I just didn't care for the taste. Not the worst thing I ever had, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States