Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My eight-year old daughter is finding that she's not a big fan of meat, and wanted to try cooking tofu for dinner. I, on the other hand, am a big fan of meat and generally turn my nose up at tofu. I decided to humour her, searching for highly rated tofu dishes on Allrecipes. She honed in on this recipe. It was simply amazing. My whole family loved the dish, even dad the carnivore (me). We prepared this with fresh vegetables: red pepper, snow peas, bok choy, green onion, and water chestnuts. My only change on this one would be to either reduce the oil for frying the tofu or to drain it after frying. The remaining oil didn't combine well with the peanut sauce, and left a bit of a soupy separated pool of oil in the bottom of the dish. Thanks for posting, and for changing my opinions on tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Near

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I am only giving this four stars because I made several modifications to the recipe. It turned out great! Like some of the other reviews, I simply marinated the tofu in a little soy sauce a touch of peanut sauce instead of the egg and cornstarch. I also added a bit of thinly cut sliced beef and extra small shrimp in while I was sauteeing the tofu. Lastly, I added some canned pineapple chunks as a bit of a sweet garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Delicious and easy! But, not so good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was soooo delicious! I kept eating the vegetables even though I was full because this tasted so good. Used Thai Peanut Sauce recipe from the website as someone suggested. Next time, I may try panko bread crumbs instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used the 'best peanut sauce recipe' on this site, and made a few modifications: flour instead of corn starch when frying the tofu, and for the veggies, I started sauteeing a tablespoon each of chopped ginger and garlic, then added a tablespoon of soy sauce and a tablespoon of the peanut sauce. Gave a great flavor to the veggies that worked nicely with the tofu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I looooove this recipe. I started looking for tofu recipes when my father-in-law who is a vegan, came to visit. It was made specifically for him, but after tasting this, the entire family wanted it.This was my third attempt at a tofu recipe and this is just absolutely delicious. My hardcore husband who does nothing but beef, gave this a 5 star rating so that should tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is the best way to cook tofu. It's nice and crispy. I used fresh vegetables: pea pods and mushrooms. It was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Added peanut sauce to the veggies. Used Trader Joe's Peanut sauce. Needed a little soy sauce added for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is my favorite way to have tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
first time i used tofu, simple and good. I would do this again but with fresh vegitation, and I made my own peanut sauce "The Best Thai Peanut Sauce." I will use this in college
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluevwman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States