Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Tried the recipe "as is" and it was really good although I was generous with all the seasoning knowing tofu needs it. Next time trying the suggestion of another reviewer and building on the breading portion just to vary it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Being the first time EVER to eat Tofu, I was a little hesitant on recipes. I went through MANY MANY Tofu recipes and finally decided to try this one! I loved it! My boys LOVED it! I made a few changes. I didn't have basil on hand since I wasn't home when I made this so I used Italian seasoning (which I think turned out way better.) Instead of using bread crumbs I used Kellogg's Special K Cereal, put it in a plastic bag and crumbled it. I have to be honest, it was a little hard to work with but then again I've never handled Tofu before. Great recipe definitely will be kept in my family recipe book! Thanks for this recipe, from a Single mom of 3 boys! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
When I first saw this recipe, I was intrigued? Tofu Parmigiana? That sounds interesting? I decided to try it for dinner. My husband hates tofu, but he tried it and to my surprize he liked it! Glory Hallelujah! I found a tofu recipe he will eat! My son(the picky eater)also loved it! We thought it tasted just like eggplant parmigiana! I did however make a few changes to the recipe, just to accomidate for lack there-of, or for taste preferences. I drained sliced tofu between 2 kitchen towels pressed by a large pan on top for 15 mins. I then used egg rather than water to dip slices in and made my own bread crumbs by using 1/2 c. plain crumbs mixed with 1/4 c. parm cheese, 1 tsp. mixed italian herbs, and 1 T. seasoned salt. fryed them in 1 part unsalted butter to 1 part olive oil for more of a buttery flavor. and used a homemade mushroom pasta sauce, seasoned with oregano, basil and garlic, like in the recipe. Topped it with mozzarella and parm cheese, like in the recipe and baked it according to directions. Perfecto! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I did not really care for this recipe. It took a lot of work and I wasn't impressed with the taste. My hubby liked it more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Very tasty. I don't have much experience with tofu, but I took other's suggestions and froze it for a few days first, then thawed it out. I didn't have seasoned breadcrumbs, so I used Panko with a little Italian seasonings in it. I dried the tofu slices out with a paper towel, seasoned them with salt and pepper, dipped them in flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs and baked them in the oven at 375 for 20 minutes instead of frying them. Much lighter. I overdid it on the spices, I think I might leave them out entirely next time and just use jarred spaghetti sauce instead. Served up on Angel Hair pasta, perfect complement! You couldn't tell the difference between the tofu and chicken in terms of texture. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
First time using tofu and my husband loved it! I used canned Spaghetti sauce and dont skip the mozzerella. I did the same as everyone but I skipped putting this in the freezer. I will try that next time. But I coated it with flour, egg and panko then baked at 350 for 15 mins each side and then poured hot spaghetti sauce and cheese over tofu and baked 400 for 20 mins. Served over some whole wheat angel hair pasta and perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My girls helped to make and loved eating this dish... Bravo. I baked the tofu instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Even my kids ate it! Unfortunately I needed to make at least twice the amount for a family of 5 including 3 boys and a hungry husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love having vegetarian night at least twice a week and this recipe ensures that my meat-loving husband looks forward those night just as much as me. I double my recipe and add tomato slices and chopped basil in between layers. Also I make garlic spaghetti and mixed green salad to go along with. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Great idea and easily customizable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States