Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Great tofu recipe! Like some of the other reviewers mentioned, you might not realize that there's tofu in the recipe! I actually like this recipe better with tofu! I made a few changes. I used panko, instead of bread crumbs, and used less parmesan. I also couldn't find an 8 inch square pan, so I used an 8 by 11 pan. This worked out well because I was able to lay most the tofu slices down in a single layer. The top was browning within 15 minutes, so I didn't put it in the oven for the full 20 minutes. Next time, I think we'll make this with some roasted spaghetti squash. Enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan103

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Where do i start! this was really yummy, my boyfriend loved it. We are vegetarians so i could not try the egg to make the breadcrumbs stick. I just dipped it in some vegetable broth and baked the tofu. I decided to do some testing and made one batch in the frying pan and just baked the other. Overall I say skip the frying the oven does the job just fine. Otherwise I would def make this again. Tofu is so affordable at just $1 or $2 a container. There's also room for a vegan to enjoy this dish, simply switch out the regular cheese for soy cheese! :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My new favorite tofu recipe! Amazing. And I mean it. No substitutions or adjustments. Honestly, it's perfect exactly the way it is. Not the prettiest dish, though. x)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Absolutely declicious, even my 5 year old who tends to be picky completely enjoyed it. I drained the tofu of excess wate with paper towel and dredged the slices in flour, then egg and then the crumb mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was very enjoyable; not a bit left. I did as some reviewers suggested and dipped the tofu in egg before the bread crumbs and had no problem with them sticking. The one thing I did a little differently was to add some garden fresh tomato slices on the top before adding the cheese. It added a great taste and was a way to use some of the tomatoes I had. Thanks so much for sharing! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
tell them its chicken and everyone will believe you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
"I didn't think tofu could taste so good!" said my husband. I patted dry the tofu slices, dredged them in flour then egg then crumbs as suggested by Elena in the reviews. It tasted so good!!! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I just made this tonight and had to come on and write my review. I've made a few tofu dishes before that had good reviews and I've ended up throwing them out. I am a new vegetarian. Due to my poor results in the past, I followed the revised instructions from some of the other reviewers. I drained the tofu and froze overnight. After thawing I used the flour, egg, then breadcrumbs and baked. I then put it in a skillet and fried with Pam. I will probably try with a little olive oil next time. I then put it in the baking dish with sauce and let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours. I added zucchini and more sauce and then baked. I did use 1 1/2 jars of sauce but I like a lot of sauce. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was ok. I followed some other reviewers' advice and froze the sliced tofu before breading, then baked. I don't know how anyone could ever mistake this for chicken, but it was decent. It was a good way to use up the remaining tofu I had in the house, but I won't likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Great recipe. I want to add that I noticed everyone recommended freezing the tofu first, then going through the trouble of squeezing water between paper towels, bla bla, baking first, then frying, then baking again...um...not necessary. As long as you have extra firm tofu, simply drain the water from the packaging, dip the tofu in the bread crumbs (and you DO NOT need to dip in eggs, the crumbs stick just fine without it), then bake it. You don't even have to fry it. That simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States