Tofu Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with this. As with most "alternative" recipes, I was not expecting identical taste. That being said, it was quite good. (I followed the original recipe.) After tasting, I used it in a chicken salad where mixed with other flavors no one had a clue it wasn't egg/oil based store-bought mayo. Only after it was entirely consumed did I reveal that it was tofu. Several folks wanted the recipe. I'll be using this in future endeavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and it was much better than I thought it would be. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar. I used a medium tofu and next time I would use the firm. I am going to play with this recipe and spices until I get it just right for me. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My first thought was, if it is really that easy and that tasty, why doesn't everyone make tofu mayo? After tasting it my thought was, why the heck have I not been making this for years. I am not vegetarian but I like it better than regular mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
quick and easy - i used dijon and dill will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I don't really get the mayo taste when I tried this, but it is tasty dip for veggies. I added more salt and mustard for a tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
For those who are unfamiliar with vegetarian/vegan cooking this will not taste like traditional mayo. However, this has been one of the best tofu mayo I've had next to the store bought. The only change I made, like some of the other reviewers, is to substitute brown mustard for the dry mustard. I saved this recipe and I feel it is definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Buel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newhall, California, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This does taste exactly like mayo. It's amazing! The texture is not like mayo, it's a little thinner and of course not as creamy but it is a great substitute for mayo and one I will be using from now on. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Incredible!! I used dijon instead of dry mustard and added paprika, garlic powder and lemon juice. I didn't measure; just sort of eye-balled the extra additions. I let it sit in the refrigerator for a couple hours and served with the Fruity Chicken Salad and Quick biscuits from this site. Wonderful saturday afternoon meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
i used dijon mustard instead of mustard powder. it tasted little bland for my taste but after adding about a tsp of lemon juice me and my fam ADORED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Tastes very similar to the tangy zip of that ooo Miracle Whip, which was just what I was looking for. I love this mayo substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States