Tofu Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with this. As with most "alternative" recipes, I was not expecting identical taste. That being said, it was quite good. (I followed the original recipe.) After tasting, I used it in a chicken salad where mixed with other flavors no one had a clue it wasn't egg/oil based store-bought mayo. Only after it was entirely consumed did I reveal that it was tofu. Several folks wanted the recipe. I'll be using this in future endeavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and it was much better than I thought it would be. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar. I used a medium tofu and next time I would use the firm. I am going to play with this recipe and spices until I get it just right for me. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My first thought was, if it is really that easy and that tasty, why doesn't everyone make tofu mayo? After tasting it my thought was, why the heck have I not been making this for years. I am not vegetarian but I like it better than regular mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
quick and easy - i used dijon and dill will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I don't really get the mayo taste when I tried this, but it is tasty dip for veggies. I added more salt and mustard for a tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
For those who are unfamiliar with vegetarian/vegan cooking this will not taste like traditional mayo. However, this has been one of the best tofu mayo I've had next to the store bought. The only change I made, like some of the other reviewers, is to substitute brown mustard for the dry mustard. I saved this recipe and I feel it is definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Buel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newhall, California, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This does taste exactly like mayo. It's amazing! The texture is not like mayo, it's a little thinner and of course not as creamy but it is a great substitute for mayo and one I will be using from now on. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Incredible!! I used dijon instead of dry mustard and added paprika, garlic powder and lemon juice. I didn't measure; just sort of eye-balled the extra additions. I let it sit in the refrigerator for a couple hours and served with the Fruity Chicken Salad and Quick biscuits from this site. Wonderful saturday afternoon meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
i used dijon mustard instead of mustard powder. it tasted little bland for my taste but after adding about a tsp of lemon juice me and my fam ADORED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Tastes very similar to the tangy zip of that ooo Miracle Whip, which was just what I was looking for. I love this mayo substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States