Tofu Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We substituted the Masala with a half a jar of Tikka Masala Curry Paste and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz and Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
OMG I love tofu and garam masala and I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vrinda12

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Royal, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My 1st Tofu meal and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I'm a carnivore by heart, but I had tofu in my fridge and wanted to cook it up. I also had the rest of the ingredients, so I was able to make a dish out of nothing. This was great for a veggie dish! I added a small cube chicken buillion and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This came out really tasty! I used chicken broth instead of water and simmered it for 20 minutes to thicken the liquid a little more. I also ended up adding a bit of extra cumin, cinnamon, bay leaf and ginger, because i only had 1 tbsp. of garam masala. It was a big hit, very flavorful and pleasantly spicy (with a little bit of extra pepper)! Was great served over plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Overall, good recipe with a few changes. I omitted the garbanzo beans (didn't have any), and green bell pepper (don't like them). I added 1 15oz can of tomato sauce instead of the chopped tomato, and only added about a half cup of water. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper, and finished the dish with fresh chopped cilantro (about 1 tbsp) and a splash of lime juice. I served it over brown rice. I think next time I will include the garbanzo beans and add even more tomato sauce/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I used olive oil instead of canola oil and later, during the simmering process, added two tblespoons of tomato paste because the sauce wasn't thickening up as I would have hoped. I also liberally sprinkled cayenne pepper over the simmering ingredients. Lastly, I added several dashes of soy sauce for a little boost. Overall, it was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was good. My family really liked it and said "You can make this again!" I started by making this exactly as written except I marinated the tofu in soy and teriyaki sauce and I used one can of diced tomatoes. Then it wasn't as saucey as I liked so I added an additional can of tomato sauce. Since that made it more volume I upped the garam masala some, then tasted it and it seemed a little flat. (I cook without salt due to health reasons and I think salt would have fixed this) Noting the other reveiws, I decided sour cream or yogurt would be a good addition but alas I had niether so added some cream and lemon juice. With these changes it was a Hit! I served it over white rice and I will definately make this again. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I give it 3 and half stars. I am a new vegitarian, and not really used to eating tofu or many vegatable, so this did dish did not make my taste buds sing but it wasnt bad either. Something to get used to, tofu especially. I like the fact that its healthy. I followed the recipe almost completly I just added two papers instead of one. Cooking time was increased as well, maybe 30 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Pretty good! I had to make a few changes - I didn't have any chickpeas so used blackeyed peas (tasted great) and no fresh tomatoes so used some sundried that had a little Italian seasoning on them (was good too). Also did not add the additional TB of oil, and no salt for health reasons. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States