Tofu Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Not at all what I expected. Here's what I think I'll do next time: Make extra sauce and add whole-fat yogurt, clarified butter (ghee), or cream. Might also substitute all or a portion of the above for ground cashews. I'll increase the amount of onion to two, and also the amount of tomato. I'll up the amount of garam masala spice, and skip the garbonzo beans. If I add anything more, it will be the pul lentils or type used in toor dal -- these are the yellow legumes. I was surprized not to see lemon juice in this, as it was a creamless masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very healthy recipe! When I followed the recipe exactly, however, I found it rather bland. I found it helpful to replace the water with chicken broth and added various spices from my pantry in order to save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Overall, good recipe with a few changes. I omitted the garbanzo beans (didn't have any), and green bell pepper (don't like them). I added 1 15oz can of tomato sauce instead of the chopped tomato, and only added about a half cup of water. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper, and finished the dish with fresh chopped cilantro (about 1 tbsp) and a splash of lime juice. I served it over brown rice. I think next time I will include the garbanzo beans and add even more tomato sauce/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I'm a carnivore by heart, but I had tofu in my fridge and wanted to cook it up. I also had the rest of the ingredients, so I was able to make a dish out of nothing. This was great for a veggie dish! I added a small cube chicken buillion and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I used olive oil instead of canola oil and later, during the simmering process, added two tblespoons of tomato paste because the sauce wasn't thickening up as I would have hoped. I also liberally sprinkled cayenne pepper over the simmering ingredients. Lastly, I added several dashes of soy sauce for a little boost. Overall, it was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This came out really tasty! I used chicken broth instead of water and simmered it for 20 minutes to thicken the liquid a little more. I also ended up adding a bit of extra cumin, cinnamon, bay leaf and ginger, because i only had 1 tbsp. of garam masala. It was a big hit, very flavorful and pleasantly spicy (with a little bit of extra pepper)! Was great served over plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We substituted the Masala with a half a jar of Tikka Masala Curry Paste and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz and Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Pretty good! I had to make a few changes - I didn't have any chickpeas so used blackeyed peas (tasted great) and no fresh tomatoes so used some sundried that had a little Italian seasoning on them (was good too). Also did not add the additional TB of oil, and no salt for health reasons. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I doubled the recipe and added 1 -28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also substituted coconut milk for the water (14 oz) . Topped with sesame seeds and scallions. 5 stars with my adjustments but only 3 stars as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I changed a few things to make it my own and it still turned out great! Instead of firm tofu, I used 1 package of TVP, and I didn't have the masala so I used "all season" and curry powder instead. I would advise using a slighly less then 2 cups of water (I just drained the extra liquid out before serving). All in all, a very good recipe that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States