Tofu Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
The recipe is bland without some changes. I made the following changes, and it was fabulous. I added to the sauce mixture: 1 tsp basil 1 tsp italian seasoning 2 cloves garlic 1 c. lowfat ricotta 1 sauteed zucchini 1 1/2 c. sauteed mushrooms 1/2 pack frozen spinach and increased the spaghetti sauce to 2 cups, increased salt to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I have used crumbled tofu in place of cottage cheese several times, and it always turns out great. The key is to make the dish, such as lasagna, ahead of time, and let it set in the fridge overnight. It allows the tofu to "soak up" the flavors from the dish, and masks the "tofu-y" flavor. When you're ready to serve, just reheat it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ISLANDGIRL05
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Made this again tonight. Simpler this time around. I layered my tofu btwn 2 plates wrapped in paper towel (changing often if they become wet)... I did this for about 30-45 min prior to making this whole thing. The key is to NOT HAVE excess water in your sauce mixture--that's what makes it runny people! Anyhoo after I dried my tofu I eyballed my spices in a lg bowl, parsley, basil, italian seasoning, oregano, pinch of garlic salt, lemon pepper, grated parm cheese (I'd rather use the fresh one, but wanted more flavor in this mix--fresh added later), minced garlic and a smidge of olive oil. Mashed that all together the good old fashioned way (with my fingers--plus my toddler helped) and made it look like the consistency of ricotta cheese--amazing. Still used that Costco size Ragu parm sauce for this-dumped the entire jar in. Think it could be just a wee bit saucier, so I have a sm jar to pop open for the leftovers. Other than that...GREAT EASY RECIPE. Oh yeah and hubby loved it last time... didn't suspect a thing! My new way of making lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
This receipe exceded my expectations. I took some of the other reviewer's advice and added fresh onions and garlic to my sauce as well as doubling the cheese and using a whole jar of sauce. Perfect! If you like your lasagna juicy and cheesy you must use more cheese and definitely a whole jar of sauce. I also used whole wheat lasagna instead of semolina, fat free mozz cheese and fat free pasta sauce (no one was the wiser, that's how good it was). Definitely freezes well which is great when you are cooking for 1. Next time will definitely add some spinach to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is my FAVORITE recipe in the world! I make it all the time(i am having some tonight), the only problem is that you need almost twice as much sauce and cheese as it calls for and a bit more tofu, but it tastes amazing and even i can make it(i'm a 15 year old that can only make this and kraft dinner). try it, you'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wow! I just finished baking this lasagna and it is incredible. I added ricotta and another cup of spaghetti sauce. Also- for those new to tofu, make sure you press all the water out using clean dish towels or paper towels. The "dryer" the tofu the more it can absorb all the good flavors of your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I love tofu, and I love lasagna ... I never thought this would taste soooo GOOD. I made some modifications to it based on other users reviews. First I sprayed my pan with PAM. In a large mixing bowl, I added a block of firm tofu (dried off w/ paper towel), 2 eggs, a couple gulgs of organic milk, kosher salt, italian seasoning, garlic powder, basil, nutmeg, blk pepper, mozz cheese, 3 cloves of fresh garlic chopped, and 1/2 a jar of Bertolli olive oil and mushroom sauce. I smashed it all together for the ricotta consistency and then put this tofu mixture as my bottom layer. I had 3 layers of noodles. On my 1st layer, I put some sauce from the jar and some cheese; then the tofu mixture, then sauce/cheese. I never measure my spices. Just pour in a whole bunch cuz it tastes so good (or eyeball it, as Rachel Ray would say)! Next time I may add some Boca ground meat sauteed in EVOO and garlic and add it as one of my layers. Spinach sounds good too. I bet my tofu-phobic husband will never know this lasagna was made with tofu! Thanks for the great recipe! *UPDATE*: I successfully tricked my husband. He LOVED the lasagna so I do not think I will ruin it for him by telling him about the tofu. One thing I would probably try differently next time is to use plain sauce (not the tofu/sauce mixture) for the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I made this recipe for my meat-eating gf and myself. I was surprised at how much it makes. I had plenty of leftovers. However I strongly recommend that you follow what other reviews have suggested: a) use spaghetti sauce (I used a garlic & tomato one which was good) b) DOUBLE the amount of ingredients in the SAUCE mixture (I even think you could more than double it as I started to run out). I didn’t use tofu but instead a meat substitute (Quorn Crumbles). It is a good recipe and my gf was surprised that it tasted so good. Next time I think I will add more (onions, garlic, maybe some vegetables). Even the leftovers were good (I ate it all myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I added spinach and artichoke to the cheese and tofu mixture. It worked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was very bland. I did add more tomato sauce and of course I didn't saute the onion so I will next time. My husband said it needed some ricotta cheese... He said something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States