Tofu Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe! I made some adjustments as follows starting with the first time I made it based on my personal opinion and some reviews. I sauteed garlic, and mixed that with a couple cups of frozen spinach, the tofu, and some crushed red pepper. I mixed in one egg, some garlic salt and pepper, and 1/2 Cup grated Parmesan. I then mixed in a little bit of spaghetti sauce and a little mozzarella. I used the rest of the sauce and mozzarella to make separate layers in the lasagna - tofu mixture, sauce, cheese, noodles, etc. The tofu mixture i got from a different recipe for tofu lasagna rolls, which I have been making for a while! It was great this way, and probably great the original way as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Delish! I took others suggestions and jazzed it up a bit with additional spices including red chili pepper flakes. More sauce and more cheese are definitely needed. I did not tell my boys it had tofu in it and they both had second helpings. Leftovers were not great but I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this for the family tonight and did not tell them what it was made from. They all loved it, from husband to kids not a complaint in the bunch. I did what IslandGirl05 suggested and drained the tofu well as well as adding extra sauce. I didn't have spinach so I steamed a bag of frozen broccoli and a carrot I had and then processed them in the food processor. I had a few mushrooms in fridge and added them to the tofu mixture in the food processor as well. Only had one cup of mozzarella, so used a cup of cheddar as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie D
Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I really enjoyed this, however I can't give it five stars as I made too many of my own adjustments so I can't really say how the original recipe would have turned out. I made my own pasta sauce with about 4 garlic cloves and I used 3 cups of sauce. I used just a dash of the nutmeg on the tofu as I was not sure how I felt about it in the recipe. I made up for it by adding rosemary, oregano and basil to the mixture and instead of mozza I used cheddar as that was all I had on hand. I also sautéed some zucchini, onions and green pepper and added them to each layer as I though this recipe could use a few veggies. I would suggest making a tent with tin foil over the pan and bake for 15 - 20 minutes and then remove and bake for a remaining 10 minutes so that the top gets nice and brown. I will definitely make this again and again as it is a wonderful change from the same ol' tofu recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The recommended amount of noodles is confusing in this recipe. Once I figured that out, it turned out great. A regular pkg. of lasagna noodles is 16 oz. I used half, 8 oz., (as recommended on the box) for a 9 x 13 baking dish with three layers of noodles. I also used a lot more sauce than called for--about 32 oz. My 17 yr. old daughter loved it and had 3 servings. I never told her about the tofu. I will leave out the nutmeg the next time. It seemed like a strange ingredient for lasagna. I added a cup of fresh baby spinach to the center layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Thought this recipe was amazing!! Not a huge fan of tofu but when it's cooked you wouldn't even notice it. Took some suggestions and added garlic, onions and peppers to the mix. I also added a layer of lean ground beef. Both my partner and I agreed it was delicious!! Definately will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trevor Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Love sneaking tofu into dishes for the added protein and bulk! This is great. I followed the most helpful review by LJ in terms of spicing it up. Added sauteed onion, zucchini and a chunk of frozen spinach. I also used the no cook lasagna noodles. I'm guessing it'll be better tomorrow after the flavors have marinated overnight... looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I could easily double or triple this recipe and it still would just fill the pan. I made it for my family and it received rave reviews! I used 1.5 blocks of tofu, and water instead of milk. I used cheddar because I didn't have any mozza onhand, as well as I topped it off with salsa because I didn't have enough spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
DELICIOUS - with some modifications. The modifications made it a 5 star meal. I used twice the mozzarella and an entire jar of spaghetti sauce. I added one jar of drained artichoke hearts, (roughly chopped), a couple cups of fresh baby spinach, and 5 cloves of garlic and 1/2 an onion, (chopped and sauteed in olive oil first.) Definitely a good base, but I feel like the modifications, (some based on others suggestions), definitely added to the flavor and the look. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States