Tofu Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I'd probably make this again. I prefer lasagna with meat, but for a meatless one this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I really love this recipe, the only problem I had was finding vegetarian Parmesan cheese (none calf rennet) which doesn't seem to exist, at least in the UK, but I found Tesco in the UK do a good vegetarian substitute which tasted great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I decided to follow LJ's advice, and added crushed garlic, half a pack of frozen spinach, one sauteed zucchini and a cup of sauteed mushrooms to the sauce mixture. I also used more spaghetti sauce and about 500gm of tofu. It turned out a little mushy but was still really tasty and pleased everyone. Try it out. You can mix and match with veggies that take your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
It was pretty good. I doubled the filling/sauce recipe because, as others have noted, there simply wasn't enough. But I used a cup of lowfat cottage cheese to keep the saturated fat in check. The taste factor was pretty good, I added a little mace to help highlight the nutmeg. The texture left me a little wanting. It felt like it needed a bit more substance, perhaps some cashew pieces (I've had great success with those in other lasagna dishes). This would, however, be an ideal dish or base dish for someone desiring to incorporate more tofu (i.e. lowfat protein) into their diet. I would suggest the addition of spinach or other substancial fiber or protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolots
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Pretty good recipe but slightly bland. I added a bunch of dried herbs/seasonings. Also sprinkled some red pepper flakes on top when serving. Definitely not enough sauce like other reviewers said - I used about 2.5 cups. I got both kinds of reactions - one person said she'd still prefer it with meat, the other didn't realize it was tofu at all. As for me, I like tofu and I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I also added a number of ingredients and cut the cheese in half, and it turned out great! (fresh garlic, fresh basil and parsley, spinach, mushrooms, squash, fresh stewed tomatoes and paste to the sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Per everyone else's suggestion, I used 2 jars of sauce and 2 cups of cheese for the sauce mixture. I also added a layer of spinach, mushrooms, onion and zucchini and increased the amount of spices. (used cinnamon instead of nutmeg w/no problem.) Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was great, my husband thought there was ricotta cheese in it! The only changes I made was replacing 1 clove of gatrlic minced instead of nutmeg. The sauce had mushrooms and black olivs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a great recipe. I did make the following changes: increased salt to 1/2 teaspoon; used a whole jar of spaghetti sauce. I also added 1 medium sized onion chopped; 3 cloves garlic minced; 1 Tablespoon fresh chopped basil; 1 Tablespoon dried basil; 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning; 1 teaspoon dried oregano; about 2/3 cup fresh spinach torn into pieces; pinch of crushed red pepper; extra cheese (both mozz. and parm.) Next time I will try adding about 1 cup lowfat ricotta. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was really good. I used a whole can of tomato sauce and still think it could have used some more. Next time I will also add more veggies, zucchini and mushrooms. UPDATE: Made this again, sauteed mush and zuc's with onion and garlic. So good! My hubs and 5 yr old love this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States