Tofu Keema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Loved this. I followed the recipe pretty closely, however, I didn't have cumin seeds. I just threw in a little ground cumin. I also used a can of diced tomatos instead of fresh tomatos. I think this added the extra liquid that some of the other reviwers felt this dish was missing. I added an extra teaspoon of minced ginger too. I really enjoy that flavor. I served this over jasmine rice. It was even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adabrowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was pretty good, although not quite what I would consider Indian food. It's more its own, unique thing. I made a few changes: I used an entire 10oz package of peas, and doubled all of the spices, adding to that grated, fresh turmeric (about 2t total, it's strong), and a good pinch of asafetida. I added a little water to help the whole dish heat through without sticking to the pan (I don't use non-stick) and without having to up the oil. The water cooked off, making a nice thick dish. It's a really nice quick dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Found this recipe when looking for more ways to use tofu. Followed the recipe exactly and the whole family enjoyed it. Lime Juice is a good addition to this and with rice makes a filling meal. Another great vegetarian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is so good! I really like the texture of the frozen/thawed tofu! The only thing I changed was not adding any oil, I just used a non-stick pan and it saved me a lot of calories per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe almost exactly as written and it turned out great. The only step I skipped was freezing the tofu and it didn't seem to make too much of a difference. I was worried that the dish was going to come out a little too dry in the end, but the tomatoes helped keep it juicy. Just make sure to keep the lid on the skillet after adding the tomatoes- this should help it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Sadly, I think this is my lowest rated recipe so far! I wanted to like this so much, but even with adding to it after it was done there just wasn't much flavor to this at all. I tried it the way it was written and then added veggie broth and then added a myriad of spices, but it just wasn't the recipe we were hoping for. I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Not too bad, I guess, but nothing to write home about. While it was cooking for 15 minutes, I sporadically added small splashes from a cup of chicken broth, added 1/2 tsp of garlic salt, and a small dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I didn't like this at all, I think it was the texture of it. The raccoons sure liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
just made it... added probably triple the spices, (used garlic powder, and ground ginger instead of minced) and added the cup of veg. broth... i really like it! not sure what the "real" thing is supposed to taste like so i dont know if its right.... but it tastes really good to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States