Tofu Keema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I am not very experienced with tofu so I followed the recipe exactly. Our family thought this was a very flavorful and filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Taking the advice, I added some veggie broth along the way and I can really see how this could have turned out dry. I also used a can of diced tomatoes and included the liquid from that. I added more spices and all, because I always do, but I think this makes a really good base to start from. I served over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Delicious way to do tofu! Per advice from other commenters I popped open a can of veggie broth and wound up adding some so the keema wasn't dry, it definitely needed it I like it moist enough that it's easy to scoop with naan, but not soupy. Recommend cooking per instructions until you get to the lid-on for 15 minutes phase. Start adding veggie broth to taste (I checked it every five minutes and wound up adding around half of a 16oz can). I used cumin the spice because I couldn't find seeds at the local grocer, everyone had seconds. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was incredibly dry. I added veggie broth and some tomato sauce in an attempt to save it, but then the spices weren't as balanced. While I liked my result, it was pretty different than the recipe by the time I was done. Also note that the jalapeno kind of overwhelmed the rest of the dish. The Coconut Tofu Keema recipe on here was much better even though I used inferior curry for that one. I made both but hoped this would be good because it was a lot less work, but in the end the extra work was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Very easy to make. Didn't freeze the tofu, just pressed it for half an hour. Did the suggested 1 cup veggie broth - made it easy for pairing with quinoa and naan bread. Will add more curry powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maggiev
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
New to the vegan diet and I thought it was WAY good. I highly recommend. I made this using ZERO oil. Just omit the oil all together and follow the recipe otherwise. Use a good pan and don't over-stir/over-flip/over-eff-with the dish while it's cooking. If it sticks a bit to the pan, scoot it over to the side and put a splash of water on the bare side of the pan. Scrape the yummy goodness up and mix it with your food. Voila! Clean pan and seasoning goes back into the tofu. Then do the same on the other side. Taking the oil out saves 360 calories in the total pan, 90 off each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiev
Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I like it. I added some chicken flavor top ramen flavoring for extra color and flavoring. It was really easy to make and I will it again. I used frozen peas and diced canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I love tofu and I'm always looking for different ways to cook them. I never thought of mincing tofu at all. Thought it was clever. Overall, I thought this dish needed more ginger and salt. I wanted to add turmeric but I was out. I did not add peas because I didn't have any. Also, I felt it needed a bit of broth as well because it started to dry out with all the moisture being absorbed, so I added a quarter of light coconut milk. I will definately be keeping this recipe for my meatless meals. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
different but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great recipe. Good balance of flavors for the tofu. If you think it's too dry, try soaking the tofu shortly in some veggie broth before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States