Tofu Jerky II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I made this for a vegan, and they really loved it. I cooked it much longer than suggested, but I had started out at a lower temperature. The only thing I personally would like would be if it had more flavor. But as I said, the recipient was ecstatic. Vegans are fun to cook for, because no one usually does. ;) They appreciate it more. Adopt a vegan and learn some new tricks. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Tried "patti cake"'s recommendation of 250 for 4 hours, and it initially turned out bad enough I nearly threw it away. I ended up tossing it in the fridge ziplocked overnight. After I got home from work the flavor had really soaked in, and the texture had become uniform and jerky-like. Very tasty, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Easy preparation. I didn't get my tofu sliced uniformly, and every bite still had great taste & good texture. I wasn't even a fan of beef jerky, and this tofu jerky is terrific. We increased the temperature toward the end to speed the cooking. Might try the 250 at 4 hours recommended in another review next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ejt7
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very tasty, slightly crunchy. I cooked them for 30 minutes less than said in the directions and they all (except for a few, fatter slices) came out perfect. This may be because I cut most of them very thin though. Just watch them carefully within the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pretty sticky, and only mildly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
this is wonderful to munch on! it´s a much better option than pototo chips or other treats because it tastes very good and has good protein in it instead of fat! Absolutely great :) I made them in a Dehydrator for 8 hours on 70°C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Delicious! It's a sweet and spicy marinade and I thought it tasted really good without the liquid smoke. I used a 250 degree oven and it took over 5 hours, but I think I cut the pieces too thick. I also marinaded the tofu overnight. I can't keep my hands off it, it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie_C_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I'd rather eat the tofu right out of the container than this stuff....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very Good. Not beef jerky, but who would actually want to eat a cow!! I used my Krups Toaster Oven and did the convect baking option. After reading the reviews, I think this is one of those recipes that require a good oven. If you have a poor quality one, the fluctuation in temperate will make it impossible to make these. I flipped mine every hour and a half and reapplied the sauce. This made them a bit too spicy so next time I will only re-coat them only two or three times. If you don't like spicy, cut down on the black pepper. The only reason I am giving it four and not five stars is because the spicy is on the front of the tongue and not on the back. Proper spicy should be on the back or balanced. I am going to try a dash of cayenne pepper or heat the sauce with a small piece of a habanero in it before applying it. That should balance out the spice. All in all, I never have tried jerky tofu before, and for a long time vegan, this is a nice new way to enjoy my tofu. Thank you!!!! Added: I left one piece out and took a little bite each day. I lasted 8 days before it started to get a little too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The grownups in the house loved this recipe. A few of the kids thought it was a bit too spicy. We omitted the liquid smoke and used Rapadura instead of brown sugar. All in all a good recipe, we will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States