Tofu 'Fish' Fillet Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Giving 5 stars because my husband (who is allergic to fish) raved about it like crazy. We eat tofu all the time and this is a nice new way to do it. I only set out 1/2 cup of bread crumbs which was more than enough. I also couldn't find kelp powder, so used some dried seaweed strip that I ground up myself. It was a nice dinner, I would like to try with the kelp powder if I can find it in my market next time. Also, I used lite firm tofu, and I always freeze it, then thaw in the fridge because I like the texture better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! I recently made this as a "try this" at my bbq along with all the burgers&dogs, this was the only thing that was not left over. My dad even went back for seconds. SO easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Minding everyone else's suggestions in regards to crispiness, I decided to cut the block into 12 pieces, after pressing and straining the tofu. I also added 3 Tablespoons of Nutritional Yeast Flakes for some added protein and fiber. There seemed to be too much breading mixture (or it just wasn't sticking) with the amount of oil that I used (about 2-3 Tbsp), so I re-oiled them and re-coated them to use up all of the breading. Last, I baked them for an extra 5 minutes at 450, for additional crispiness. I wouldn't change any of the steps the I altered. They came out delicious. I ate them as nuggets, with a side of spinach, rather than in a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanton01

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was okay - followed recipe exactly, except on preparing tofu. I found the crumb mixture a little too salty. Next time will not add any salt and not pat as much bread mixture onto the slices. Also, not much "fish" flavor, however, I still ate the whole thing as I love tofu. As others may have mentioned prepare tofu by freezing it - I always throw my plastic tubs of tofu into the freezer when I buy them as I like my tofu to have a meaty texture when cooked. Then thaw in the fridge. When it's thawed cut into slices and press between absorbent paper (you can really put a lot of pressure to extract the water without tofu crumbling when it's been in the freezer). You can then cook it however you want to -I won't prepare tofu any other way no matter what recipe I use. I also buy the extra firm tofu. No problems ever with the plastic tub bursting open in the freezer either. Bottom line, I give this recipe 3 stars as it wasn't anything I thought was super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Fantastic! Instead of a 1 cup break crumbs I added 3/4 Cup Bread Crumbs and 1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.s.
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I'm rating this 5 stars, but only with a 1 major change in the recipe... fry fry fry it!! I used lemon pepper old bay seasoning rather than the hard-to-find kelp powder, and i also used seasoned bread crumbs. it came out a tad bit too salty, but crispy, fishy and yummy! one more suggestion: open the tofu a few hours before cooking, and use paper towels and a weight to dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rices Landing, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I think this recipe has potential, but there is just one thing that really turned me off about it. The tofu slices were just way too thick for my tastes. I did three slices as directed, but sliced the fourth one in half. Those thinner ones came out super crispy and much more appetizing. I didn't have kelp powder, but I added some Old Bay to give it a little seafood flavor. The tartar sauce was yummy. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I did as other reviewers suggested and froze the tofu first, then sliced into strips. I breaded it with a "seafood breading" mixture that I picked up at the grocery store--much cheaper and easier to find than kale powder. Then I pan fried it rather than baking--still, very good and highly recommended! I made the tartar sauce in the recipe and liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating after I made one change. I couldn't find kelp powder only kelp granules which I now use as a very good salt alternative. The first batch with the kelp granules was ok but didn't taste much like fish to me (likely because of the granules vs. the powder) although the texture was good and the taste was ok. For my second batch I crumpled up, almost to powder form, 2 sheets of nori (seaweed sheets used for making sushi) and they were much, much better. I put the crumpled/powdered nori sheets in the same bowl with the olive oil. After swirling it around in the oil and nori mixture, I then put it through the breadcrumb mixture. I baked mine to save some fat and calories and they came out just great! A couple of my coworkers tried some of what I brought for lunch and they loved it. After the addition of the nori for more "fish" flavor, this recipe is definitely a keeper and has become a part of my regular menu! Extra firm tofu works best and you must be sure to drain the tofu before handling. I followed the advice of a tofu chef I saw online who recommended to place the brick of tofu on a plate lined with paper towels and place a cutting board with two canned goods on top of the tofu to press out the extra water. I did this for 15 minutes and the tofu was perfect. But you can only do this with firm or extra firm tofu, otherwise you'll squish it flat! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msladygee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This really does taste just like fish! I used triple kelp powder and added flour to the dry ingredients. I also froze the tofu then defrosted in the microwave and squeezed out all of the water (as suggested by another reviewer)You must do this it makes it like a true fish fillet. I fried it in a small amount of veggie oil till brown. Then put them on a bun with tarter sauce, tomato and lettuce. I tell ya you cannot tell it isn't fish. Thanks for the recipe everyone loved it. I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKASOONER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States