Tofu Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
i didn't have any parmesian, so i used romano instead and it was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel S.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
We liked that it was creamy, but not too creamy. Tofu added protein and texture. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Great flavor, good texture, and very healthy. I halved it and used 1 bunch fresh spinach, 1/2 onion, 1 clove garlic, 1/3 c milk, 1/2 pkg soft tofu, 1/3 nutritional yeast (rather than cheese), generous amount of onion and garlic powder to taste, and pinch of pepper (left out the butter and only used canola). Cheesy taste, creamy texture, very flavorful. Very good for vegetarians and vegans (substitute soy milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I thought this recipe was great!! I tossed mine with some angel hair pasta, a nice low-fat creamy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I used spring garlic and a green onion. I bought a bag of cheese that was mixed Parmesan and Asiago. I didn't have a blender available, so I mashed the tofu mixture with a fork and hand mixer. This was extremely easy and quick to make and tastes wonderful. This would be a good introduction to tofu (or good for those who may not like tofu)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
ooooh, is this YUMMY!! Seems pretty healthy, too! My 10 month old ate, my husband ate it, and my toddler WILL eat it when he's not being difficult! LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This recipe was easy and pretty tasty, I liked that it cut out a lot of the fat. What's nice too is using it for leftovers, I put it on a pizza crust with sliced tomato, basil leaves, and some mozzarella for like 20 minutes at 400 in the oven, and had a nice relatively healthy spinach pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Honestly, I do not get how this recipe could get some such poor reviews. They probably do not know how to cook and improvise! It is sooo delicious! Such a great idea to use tofu, instead of cream. I used fresh mushrooms, half fresh and half frozen spinach, added a splash of red wine... MMM Served as a main vegetarian dish with a side of some rustic multi-grain bread to dip and dunk... Thums way up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe and didn't find the spinach to be at all bitter (even the next day)! I added just a little nutmeg as suggested by a previous reviewer. Next time I think I will try silken tofu instead of firm--I would have liked it to be just slightly creamier. All in all, a great recipe that even my non-tofu eating family seemed to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rex, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
WOW!!!!! you would never know you were eating tofu.....I used silken tofu and rice milk. I baked it for 15 min. @ 325 just to bake off some moisture and it was great.I was worried that the spinach would be bitter so I added a pinch of stevia and that was the ticket ! It was perfect. I work in a Wellness clinic and I can't wait to take it to my vegetarian friends...Thank you so much.!!!!! UPDATE....NEWS FLASH,,,, Just wanted you to know...Now I use this as a pizza base instead of a red sauce..Oh my! topped with fresh vege's it's the best vegetarian pizza( add meat if ya want)I'll keep ya up to date if I have any more brain storms....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States