Tofu Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Very yummy. A great way to get your protein and veggies in one delicious dish. I substituted 3 - 10oz packages of spinach for the fresh because I'm lazy! I only put 1/3 cup of cheese and added a little nutmeg to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
i didn't have any parmesian, so i used romano instead and it was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
delicious healthy version of creamed spinach, husband even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
No one in my family liked it at all... it was bitter, and there was too much tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I agree with the other reviewer, this is bitter. I tried adding brown sugar, didn't quite do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel S.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
We liked that it was creamy, but not too creamy. Tofu added protein and texture. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Great flavor, good texture, and very healthy. I halved it and used 1 bunch fresh spinach, 1/2 onion, 1 clove garlic, 1/3 c milk, 1/2 pkg soft tofu, 1/3 nutritional yeast (rather than cheese), generous amount of onion and garlic powder to taste, and pinch of pepper (left out the butter and only used canola). Cheesy taste, creamy texture, very flavorful. Very good for vegetarians and vegans (substitute soy milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I reviewed this before for a higher rating, but I think I'm going to have to change it down. The taste right away was really good. However, the aftertaste and reheated... not as good. I used low-fat swiss cheese, because that is what I had. I also added nutmeg. I love creamed spinach and this gets close to satisfying the craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I thought this recipe was great!! I tossed mine with some angel hair pasta, a nice low-fat creamy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This makes a very credible creamed spinach. Gotta love the nutritional benefits too: excellent protein, lowfat and a friendly calorie count. The difference between it tasting "okay" and "delicious" is in adjusting the seasonings in the sauce after the initial blending. Because I had forgotten to saute fresh garlic with the onions, I ended up rehydrating 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and then adding this as I warmed the spinach. I also added about the same amount of reconstituted garlic powder to adjust the sauce, before adding it into the spinach. For the spinach, I used two 10 oz. packages of frozen spinach that I cooked in the microwave and drained well by pressing it in a strainer before adding it to the cooked onions. For the cheese, I grated fresh parmesan in our food processor. To avoid getting out the blender too, I used the same food processor workbowl to process the sauce with the S-shaped blade and it pureed just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States