Tofu Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very very good can't even taste the tofu at all. Very creamy and yummmmy. Added a bit more garlic and mushrooms. Can't wait to try it on pasta!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The importance of following this recipe to the tee is really important - I made the error of not creaming the spinach enough and lumps of tofu is a NO NO! also - make sure that you use enough garlic/spices because that's what makes this dish. I'd have to make it again before rating it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Some reviewers commented on the bitterness of this dish. The way to reduce bitterness is to include the stem of the spinach in your dish (many people cut it out). The variety is also important, for mixes, I like the Bloomsdale Long-Standing variety of spinach. As you saute, add a tsp. of sugar and a scant tablespoon of lemon juice. Make sure you are cooking it long enough- the recipe says until just wilted, but you want to cook it much longer - 15 to 20 minutes, and keep adding liquid as it dries out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Absolutely delicious. While I didn't follow the recipe to a T (used about 1.5 times as much collard greens, threw in some mushrooms, added more garlic, halved the cheese, and doubled the silken tofu I was using), the idea was fantastic, and made my dish delicious and different from my typical stir fry. I think it would make a tasty pasta sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is really good! I actually cut the recipe in half but still used a package of tofu. I loved it! It's healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Easy and healthy alternative to the "real" thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Pearce Hochstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Really Good! Ate it for days with tortilla chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovi16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was good. I could still detect the chalkiness of tofu, but what are you going to expect? It's low fat! It was a wonderful use of silken tofu. I used some hot sauce and chili pepper flakes to give it some depth and tossed it with some pasta. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was very good. I used frozen spinach and pressed the extra liquid out. I also used green onions and added nutmeg, cayenne, and adobo seasoning. This is going into regular rotation at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SketchyRecipe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I absolutely loved this dish! I had some tofu on hand and was looking for ways to incorporate it into dinner when I stumbled upon this recipe. I didn't have onions, so I left that out. I also threw in some broccoli. Other than that, I followed the recipe and was pleasantly surprised! It turned out great and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States