Tofu Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
What a creative recipe! This was excellent. My husband and I (and EVERYONE ELSE IN THE WORLD) love creamed spinach, but I always feel so guilty stirring in all that butter and cream!! I was looking for something to make with our leftover spinach and tofu, and this recipe was the golden ticket. I used only olive oil (no butter), fresh spinach, fresh crimini mushrooms, firm tofu, onion, 1% milk, a grated parmesan and mexican cheese mix (b/c I ran out of parmesan), lots of minced garlic (6 cloves), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp black pepper, 1/8 tsp grated nutmeg (b/c I think that's a classic ingredient in traditional creamed spinach). A tip is to drain the spinach mixture before combining with the tofu mixture. There's a lot of water that gets cooked out of mushrooms and spinach, and it could make your creamed spinach too liquidy. This is a fantastic recipe. Beautifully creamy and flavorful. Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
We have creamed spinach very often, using most of the same ingredients, as a quick pasta sauce. This one has about half the calories, fat, and cholesterol of our normal one by using tofu in place of more cheese and cream. My husband couldn't tell that it was tofu. I added some more onion, garlic, and pepper to suit our tastes, but it's a keeper! I think will also experiment with different kinds of cheeses. Thanks for the healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
A little bland for my tastes, even with the extra garlic I tossed in. Looking at the pictures and judging by many other reviews I thought it would come out a bit creamier. Mine was a little drippy. Maybe because I subsituted frozen spinach for fresh? Still, it made an awesome toping for my healthy mini pizzas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piccolo13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
The concept of this dish was interesting. I found it a little bit bland. I added some tamari on top at the end. Maybe I need to play with this recipe a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This turned out much more delicious and filling than I anticipated. I used a bit more tofu and a lot less cheese. Coupled with the milk, the tofu+cheese+soy milk mixture produces a thick substance that takes a lot like cream and goes superbly with the spinach. Next time I'll try adding more milk and possibly some other vegetables to move the dish into the thick soup territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was fantastic! It's hard to tell the difference from the real thing, and it's much healthier! This is a great example of making a healthier version of a comfort food, and it was so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Sooo gooooood. I served it to my husband and in-laws who probably don't even know what tofu is. :) I ate the rest for lunch today and already have the ingredients back on my shopping list for tomorrow. I'm going to try it with with the mushrooms next time. My sister is a vegan and she can easily modify this for her diet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
OMG No way did I believe I would actually LOVE this. Maybe a faint I can tolerate it. But it was really really good, and I hate tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wargo
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I cut the ingredients in half bc I was cooking for just me, and I didn't have enough fresh spinach on hand. I didn't use as much cheese as the recipe called for. It was still absolutely delicious. I think you'd be able to adjust seasonings, tofu and milk as your like also, and it would still be great. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good recipe. Fairly easy. When i was done i put it in the oven. Keep it warn and further melted the cheese. No seconds, its a very rich side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States