Tofu Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great spinach recipe. Not heavy like most creamed spinach recipes. I added a little grated cheese on the top, and made it a little spicy with chile powder. Loved it. The leftovers will go in my egg white omelet tomorrow morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahirah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
ooooh, is this YUMMY!! Seems pretty healthy, too! My 10 month old ate, my husband ate it, and my toddler WILL eat it when he's not being difficult! LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I used spring garlic and a green onion. I bought a bag of cheese that was mixed Parmesan and Asiago. I didn't have a blender available, so I mashed the tofu mixture with a fork and hand mixer. This was extremely easy and quick to make and tastes wonderful. This would be a good introduction to tofu (or good for those who may not like tofu)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This tasted good hot. However, the bitterness of the fresh spinach really comes out as the dish cools down. I ate some hot, but when it cooled down to room temp I gagged. Tip: Eat Hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This makes a very credible creamed spinach. Gotta love the nutritional benefits too: excellent protein, lowfat and a friendly calorie count. The difference between it tasting "okay" and "delicious" is in adjusting the seasonings in the sauce after the initial blending. Because I had forgotten to saute fresh garlic with the onions, I ended up rehydrating 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and then adding this as I warmed the spinach. I also added about the same amount of reconstituted garlic powder to adjust the sauce, before adding it into the spinach. For the spinach, I used two 10 oz. packages of frozen spinach that I cooked in the microwave and drained well by pressing it in a strainer before adding it to the cooked onions. For the cheese, I grated fresh parmesan in our food processor. To avoid getting out the blender too, I used the same food processor workbowl to process the sauce with the S-shaped blade and it pureed just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I thought this recipe was great!! I tossed mine with some angel hair pasta, a nice low-fat creamy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I reviewed this before for a higher rating, but I think I'm going to have to change it down. The taste right away was really good. However, the aftertaste and reheated... not as good. I used low-fat swiss cheese, because that is what I had. I also added nutmeg. I love creamed spinach and this gets close to satisfying the craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Great flavor, good texture, and very healthy. I halved it and used 1 bunch fresh spinach, 1/2 onion, 1 clove garlic, 1/3 c milk, 1/2 pkg soft tofu, 1/3 nutritional yeast (rather than cheese), generous amount of onion and garlic powder to taste, and pinch of pepper (left out the butter and only used canola). Cheesy taste, creamy texture, very flavorful. Very good for vegetarians and vegans (substitute soy milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel S.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
We liked that it was creamy, but not too creamy. Tofu added protein and texture. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I agree with the other reviewer, this is bitter. I tried adding brown sugar, didn't quite do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States