Tofu Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I've come to actually like tofu, but even I would not use firm tofu for this recipe - definitely use silken and you will not be disappointed! One note - when I blended the chocolate into the tofu I think my tofu was too cold as bits of chocolate solidified. So I just returned the whole thing to the double boiler and cooked it down a bit til the chocolate melted. My grocery store's going to have order twice as much silken tofu now....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Dr. Laura
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I thought this was excellent. It was so quick and easy to make. The third time I made it, I put it in a graham cracker crust. I think it will also make a great filling for cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
A great recipe! Like many other reviewers I suggest you use Silken Tofu (I like Mori-Nu). The first time I made it I did not and it did not come out good, but the second time it came out delicious and smooth. Also, a whole cup of chips may be too much for some people so I would mix to taste. But overall a very good treat that does not make you feel guilty for indulging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I'm guessing that the people who said the tofu taste was too strong didn't use the silken kind. That's the most important part to making it taste good, though easy to overlook if you are not familiar with tofu. If you use the regular kind, like you would use for grilling, the texture and flavor will not be very good at all. I used a soft silken tofu, like some other reviewers. I also used chocolate soy milk and only 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Delicious! It definitely has a distinct flavor that you would not find in regular dairy pudding, but it isn't a bad flavor at all. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was a very rich dessert! I used dark chocolate morsels and vanilla soy milk with silken tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I used the regular tofu from the supermarket (not silken because they didn't have) I think that perhaps I need to use a very fine blender because the tofu was too 'seedy' which is probably my fault. I used sugarless dark chocolate but had to make up for it with splenda. I also used rice milk instead of regular milk. I was trying to make something cool for my father in law but I'm scared to serve it. My son absolutely loved it and licked out the bowl. So in any event my son will have a healthy dessert which is thrilling. I will try again definitely with a mixer that will finely blend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I really don't eat much tofu- but I tried this with "Dark" chocolate chips, ans "Silken" tofu. It was EXCELLENT- I processed it until creamy and there is no weird soy taste! my non-veg family loved it too. I only chilled for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
mmm mmm!! I am eating this delish dessert right now! it was so easy to make and I don't mind that light tofu taste at all. I substituted dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet milk chocolate, and vanilla soymilk for skim. This is definatley one of my favorite sweet treats! I am just starting to become a vegetarian, so its great to have something quick and easy to whip up with tofu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
YUM!!! I substituted almond extract (only half the amount) for the vanilla because I was out. So good! Very quick to make, great texture and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was gritty and a little bitter. Didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States