Tofu Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by STARPENGUIN
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
this is surprisingly decent. if you are vegan, you will think this is the bomb! if you are a regular meat/dairy eater like me, you'll say "hmmm, tastes alittle like soy". not that bad though. i used the blender and the cake is very smooth & creamy. i also made my own graham cracker crust (crackers/butter/sugar) and i did spread some thinned-out strawberry jam on top. i got a HUGE package of tofu from Costco and was looking for something to do with it. it also makes a great pareve dessert for those that are kosher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used the extra firm tofu as suggested and no matter how much I used the blender, the consistency wasn't smooth at all and the flavour was awful, in fact it was disgusting. Most disappointng!!! I don't appreciate having my review altered. What's the point in doing reviews if they can be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I followed recipe exactly, but it was not cooked for at least another 1/2 hour. It tasted nothing like cheesecake. We topped with fresh strawberries. One daughter said it reminded her of rice pudding. Most adults just said it was "different" but no one got a cheesecake feel from it. Most said it didn't taste bad, it just wasn't what they were expecting. I doubt I will try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe for starters, but mine was runny and did not really taste like "cheesecake." Remade it with following changes: added two large eggs and two tablespoons white flour, plus the grated rind of a lemon, and mixed in food processor. THOSE results were very NY Cheese-cake-ish, and a great pareve desert with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
WOW!! I never thought a tofu cheesecake would taste so good. I was wrong! I'm so happy to have found this recipe as I have many vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This turned out really good. My husband who is a serious cheesecake fan even liked this a lot. I did add in a small amount of dairy free cream cheese. But, not enough to really change the recipe much. Also, for those who are not getting the tofu creamy enough, ensure that you are using Mori Nu Silken Firm Tofu. You will know that you are using the right stuff because it will come out of the box very silky and smooth looking to begin with. The other tofu's are not silky smooth even before blending. This is really a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper. The consistency was excellent and it held up very well. I'm thinking that maybe those who didn't get a smooth consistency used the wrong type of tofu. My only gripe is that this is a little too sweet for me, and I have a sweet tooth... The next go round, I'll probably add more lemon juice and less sugar. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I used the blender and it got very smooth. I am not a vegan, so I added chocolate chips. Not as thick as cheesecake, but ended up tasting like cookie dough. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was tastey and very satisfying...although it took significantly longer than 30 minutes to cook. I added a blueberry topping, and it tasted great...a definite bonus to my evolving veganism!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Being lactose intolerant, this is a great alternative to traditional cream cheese based cheesecake & much healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States