Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by crazydaisy
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I don't freeze the tofu beforehand. I drain in cheesecloth in a colander. And I add chopped peppers and scallions to the mixture. I love serving them on nice, fresh, while grain rolls with wasabi mayo, alfalfa sprouts, tomato, and sometimes a pickle. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
i used a grill with same results i used chipotle sauce to give it a glaze and didn't freeze it turns it into mock chicken* wich is very tasty tho! so i was able to get a burger taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
These were absolutely wonderful!!!! I even added a few extra spices just to test, and it tasted amazing! It's also good to add flour to the mixture after you have shaped it up so it will stick together and fall apart less! Thanks for the recipe! This is sure to be a favorite of mine for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
First time cooking and eating tofu - just sounded bland & boring. I was pleasantly impressed and will keep a few of these ready to go in my freezer! The only thing I did different was add a little cornstarch and fry in olive oil. Even my husband thought they were good! I'm sure there is better out there - but decided a 5 star was the way to go. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made these without the cheese, added about 1/2 tsp. cumin powder, 1/4 cup oats, 1/4 cup wheat bran, and 1/4 cup shredded zucchini. Then stuffed them in bell pepper halves, baked them, and they were delicious. You could not tell you were not eating meat. Sprinkle just a little olive oil on them about halfway through baking so they don't dry out so bad before the peppers are done. Yum-Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenmaster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luttrell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I am currently moving to tofu and made this for me and my boyfriend. We love it. I used the baking method and had some variations: *Squeezed the water out of the tofu for 20 min between plates & paper towels *Then soaked the tofu in beef stock for 20min before crumbling into the baking pan *Sauteed green peppers instead of celery *Add fennel seed for a more meaty flavor *Add cumin, chili powder, and red pepper flakes to add spice(we like spicy) With the cheese and egg it will do well in the oven. Used 2 eggs instead of one to make it bind a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Axeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
8) I will definetly make these again one day theres plenty of time. Don't make on short notice they were worth it and next time I'll bake them. But had to add flour or else too wet. 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I added an extra egg white since my mixture was not binding well. Once in the hot oil... they didn't hold their shape and I got frustrated and started "scrambling" the whole thing. Maybe my tofu was old? It had been frozen for longer than 72 hours... :( Don't think I'll try it again since the flavor wasn't that good to me. I'm sad... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I found this recipe really boring and tasteless! I baked instead of fried it, and it had a horrible texture. It might be better if it's fried, but I wouldn't make it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States