Toffee Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this right to the recipe. I wasn't impressed. It tasted like sweetened condensed milk after it had cooled down enough to eat. I then boiled it a bit longer and it was a bit better but this isn't a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
made this for a dip for apple's use several different kinds of apples to dip in the toffee sauce everyone raved and loved it thanks for sharing looking forward to trying it on other stuff......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this so I could use up some sweetened condensed milk I had from a recipe yesterday, so I adjusted to the amount of the milk I had on hand, and it was so silky smooth and yummy, it would be great to dip apples in, bananas, on ice cream, or over a plain cake. As the others have said this is better then store bought, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Since this makes a large amount, after cooking, I took half and added a couple of tablespoons of creamy peanut butter to make peanut butter sauce. My kids love it on ice cream and pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
YUMMY!! Makes a TON of sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I always like trying new dessert sauces and seen this under the new reviews. I used the calculate button and changed it to 5 servings, instead of the recipes 20, and still got more than 1 cup of dessert sauce which was plenty. This REALLY IS SWEET! However, when I first made it I was worried about the texture when it was hot. It had a soft grain like texture and the butter kept rising to the top. Once it cooled down I strained it which didn't seem to do much alone. Then, I let it cool further and whisked it in a bowl, to smooth it out, and it seemed to work. It turned glossy and caramel toffee like. However, the only thing I would be able to use this for is to maybe flavor or sweeten a cup of coffee, hot chocolate, or something similar. I just can't imagine it being used with anything else sweet! I put it in a one cup container in the fridge and will use it for recipes calling for caramel in drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Whoa baby...this is a KEEPER! Perfect for dipping caramel apples! I originally made this by cutting the recipe down and stored in the fridge as an ice cream topping. When I took it out of the fridge I noticed it had a thick consistency. Warm it up slightly in the microwave and dip apples! Great caramel/toffee taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I love this recipe. It was exactly what I was looking for. I was planning on filling cupcakes with caramel and this was perfect. I also warmed it up and put it on frozen yogurt. So yummy. Definately making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
As is I give it four stars. It just tasted sweet and lacked flavor I added a little sea salt and butter extract to give it some flavor. It now tastes like a gourmet sauce! Great way to use up leftover sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
WOW! Made this with dark corn syrup (was out of light) and it is truly to die for. This will certainly be used again and often. It is certainly not for the calorie counter, but who's counting. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States