Toffee Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I first tasted this recipe years ago and it's always been a favorite. I moved recently and don't have many of my recipes with me since they are in storage as we wait to move into a new house. So, I was thrilled when I found this on here. I always line my pan with foil, spray it and let the butter/sugar simmer for a couple minutes so it thickens. I spread the chocolate chips with a spatula and stick them in the frig for a little while to speed up the cooling process. They always come out perfect. I don't even try to break them into nice/neat squares. I treat them like "toffee" and just break them into pieces with jagged ends/corners. These are going to a birthday party with me tonight -- bound to be a surefire hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Similar to a recipe I made, but without graham crackers. I like the addition of the graham crackers. My suggestion would be to closely watch it while it is baking - mine did not need 10 minutes. Also, I used a rubber spatula to spread the melted chocolate chips around. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Everytime I make these "toffee bars", no one will eat any of the other treats I make! So I usually end up making 2-3 batches at a time so there will be plenty to go around. Something I ALWAYS do is line the pan with foil and lightly spray with cooking spray (if you want to enjoy the cookies and not all the work involved in cleaning the pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
No greasing or sticking if you use Reynolds Release Foil! I mention this 1st for people have trouble with sticking to the pan. Also I find if you bring to a boil and boil a full 3 minutes; the brown sugar butter mixture will set up perfectly. These are just as great as the soda cracker cookies in this sight. It's hard to tell the difference. But if you compare taste; the saltines bring out the toffee flavors a bit more because of the salt. I made these at Christmas time. I also made these with milk chocolate chips instead of nuts and used 1 cup of toffee bits sold along with chocolate chip section of the baking aisle. My grandson isn't a nut lover and thought these were great this way. My coffee group thought these were a great Valentine Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The only question is why isn't this recipe famous?? I can't believe it doesn't have hundreds of 5 star reviews! I lined my pan with foil, sprayed the foil, then layed the graham crackers down. I also simmered the toffee for 3 minutes as suggested. Because I had so much toffee left over, I made 2 layers: graham crackers, toffee, graham crackers, toffee, then pecans and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
awesome and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are sooo good! They were a New Years hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Didn't have pecans so I added toffee bits after baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
great but toffee did not set up as hard as i would have liked. i boiled 2 mins and got nervous it would burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States