Toffee Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I've been making this cookie for years, always only at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These were pretty good - I tried them because they were similar to a recipe I had years ago and lost. Even though I greased the pan well, these stuck like glue to my nonstick jelly roll pan, and I basically ruined the pan trying to pry them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Similar to a recipe I made, but without graham crackers. I like the addition of the graham crackers. My suggestion would be to closely watch it while it is baking - mine did not need 10 minutes. Also, I used a rubber spatula to spread the melted chocolate chips around. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Everytime I make these "toffee bars", no one will eat any of the other treats I make! So I usually end up making 2-3 batches at a time so there will be plenty to go around. Something I ALWAYS do is line the pan with foil and lightly spray with cooking spray (if you want to enjoy the cookies and not all the work involved in cleaning the pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I made these at work as I had graham crackers to use up. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The toffee didn't really set up very well - I may let the sauce cook a little bit longer before putting in the oven. They tasted awesome and the pan was gone the same day that I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
No greasing or sticking if you use Reynolds Release Foil! I mention this 1st for people have trouble with sticking to the pan. Also I find if you bring to a boil and boil a full 3 minutes; the brown sugar butter mixture will set up perfectly. These are just as great as the soda cracker cookies in this sight. It's hard to tell the difference. But if you compare taste; the saltines bring out the toffee flavors a bit more because of the salt. I made these at Christmas time. I also made these with milk chocolate chips instead of nuts and used 1 cup of toffee bits sold along with chocolate chip section of the baking aisle. My grandson isn't a nut lover and thought these were great this way. My coffee group thought these were a great Valentine Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The only question is why isn't this recipe famous?? I can't believe it doesn't have hundreds of 5 star reviews! I lined my pan with foil, sprayed the foil, then layed the graham crackers down. I also simmered the toffee for 3 minutes as suggested. Because I had so much toffee left over, I made 2 layers: graham crackers, toffee, graham crackers, toffee, then pecans and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These tasted pretty good, but they didn't set up very well for me. Next time I will probably cook the toffee on the stove a little longer. A suggestion for others who plan to make this - make sure you line your pan with foil. It makes for much easier clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States