Toffee Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
great but toffee did not set up as hard as i would have liked. i boiled 2 mins and got nervous it would burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Didn't have pecans so I added toffee bits after baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are sooo good! They were a New Years hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
taste great but mine were a bit sticky. I think they need to be cooked a little longer. don8pet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
awesome and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I first tasted this recipe years ago and it's always been a favorite. I moved recently and don't have many of my recipes with me since they are in storage as we wait to move into a new house. So, I was thrilled when I found this on here. I always line my pan with foil, spray it and let the butter/sugar simmer for a couple minutes so it thickens. I spread the chocolate chips with a spatula and stick them in the frig for a little while to speed up the cooling process. They always come out perfect. I don't even try to break them into nice/neat squares. I treat them like "toffee" and just break them into pieces with jagged ends/corners. These are going to a birthday party with me tonight -- bound to be a surefire hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These tasted pretty good, but they didn't set up very well for me. Next time I will probably cook the toffee on the stove a little longer. A suggestion for others who plan to make this - make sure you line your pan with foil. It makes for much easier clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The only question is why isn't this recipe famous?? I can't believe it doesn't have hundreds of 5 star reviews! I lined my pan with foil, sprayed the foil, then layed the graham crackers down. I also simmered the toffee for 3 minutes as suggested. Because I had so much toffee left over, I made 2 layers: graham crackers, toffee, graham crackers, toffee, then pecans and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
No greasing or sticking if you use Reynolds Release Foil! I mention this 1st for people have trouble with sticking to the pan. Also I find if you bring to a boil and boil a full 3 minutes; the brown sugar butter mixture will set up perfectly. These are just as great as the soda cracker cookies in this sight. It's hard to tell the difference. But if you compare taste; the saltines bring out the toffee flavors a bit more because of the salt. I made these at Christmas time. I also made these with milk chocolate chips instead of nuts and used 1 cup of toffee bits sold along with chocolate chip section of the baking aisle. My grandson isn't a nut lover and thought these were great this way. My coffee group thought these were a great Valentine Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The toffee didn't really set up very well - I may let the sauce cook a little bit longer before putting in the oven. They tasted awesome and the pan was gone the same day that I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States