Toffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DSCOMPTON
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe. I was confused with the temperature as 310f is only 154c. I checked other recipes and cooked it to 300f and it turned out perfect. Don't scrimp on ingredients-use the good stuff! I used Hershey bars because I had them and topped with chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Although it is true many candy recipes you do not stir, you must stir this constantly because of the butter content. Cooked on just medium as the first batch I burned as temp went up much faster than in most candy recipes. Used dark chocolate chips instead of bars and spread around, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried making this recipe and it separated and could not be used. My daughter who is a Chef told me that you should never stir candy while it's cooking. It makes it break down and separate. I really wish this would have worked because it smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
simply put this is the best recipe ever. quality takes time! people beg me to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Don't place this on a granite counter top when cooling or it will cool too fast and the chocolate won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2teachu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denison, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was so easy to make and tasted just like a Heath candy bar! I will be useing this again for sure. Followed the recipe exactly. Be sure to stir the entire time so the sugar doesn't burn!! After the chocolate was melted and smooth, I placed the dish in the fridge to speed up the cooling. Then broke into pieces and used in a chocolate trifle...YUM! This was my first time making toffee and I would for sure recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
It was easy to make. After chilled and cracked, it became sticky and not crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
It was not half bad ... It was 3/4 bad took too long , make sure you have your stove on high
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Wow! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This one was pretty good and fairly simple, but one does have to be sure the pan you put it into is not a glass one. You can use even a cookie sheet, and without even chilling it, and once it has cooled and the chocolate is set you just sort of twist the metal sheet and the candy will break into pieces. You can hit it with a hard knife, spoon, or other utensil if the pieces are large and you want to make them smaller. Just a tip I use when I make any hard candy. I also like to put some chopped nuts (preferably pecans) on top of the melting chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankclay, Missouri, USA
Living In: Antonia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States