Toffee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Whisk it - that white separation will blend in completely. I removed it from the heat at 290. The temp rose a bit more. I'd flatten the cooling blob more next time. I omitted the nuts and added a 1/4 c of dark rum. If you have a silpat for your large jellyroll pan you can pour the candy onto that. I highly recommend very cautiously tasting the sauce as it cooks. That rum, sugar and buttery goodness will curl your toes it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as it said. It was not like a Heath bar, or anything even close. It made a white and very crumbly candy that nobody in my family liked. I love toffee, but this was not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
the mixture seperated before reaching 290. Butter to the top, sort of a curdled effect. Any suggestions?? Haven't tasted it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe was very easy to make. I omitted the walnuts because I don't like them and the toffee was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great recipe, I left out the nuts and it tastes just like a Heath bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This was a great toffee recipe. It involves a lot of stirring, but very easy and foolproof. I added pecans on top and grated milk chocolate instead of semisweet. People couldn't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! Yummy! It takes a little time to get to the boiling point so be patient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This recipe doesn't work, the directions are incorrect. The mixture never came to a rolling boil, and it burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
very good recipe. I used pecans this time, and I think I'll like it even better with crushed almonds (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
awesome this is just wonderful, i plan on making many more batches for the holiday!! thank you for this recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States