Toffee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I experimented with this recipe several times. I found that it worked best for me if I let it reach 300 degrees on my candy thermometer, but I had to stir constantly to keep it from burning. As soon as I removed it from the burner I added 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans. I poured it onto an ungreased cookie sheet and quickly spread it out as thin as possible. I put five Hershey's chocolate bars on top and evenly spread the chocolate as soon as it melted. It does take the chocolate a long time to harden, so I usually leave the pan for hours before I break the toffee apart. A spatula will lift the candy from the pan and then it breaks apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe has good proportions, but the method is a little off. Melt the sugar first, let it lightly caramelize, then add the butter. I can see where people were having problems because I had it too; my butter started burning before the sugar could emulsify. You'd think I'd remember the proper way to make toffee after going to school for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
LOVE IT! This is the same recipe that I have used for years and I am always asked for the recipe. Although it isn't a kid friendly recipe due to the candy temperature, both of my "little judges" rate this one a 5 star for taste! I use toasted almonds instead of Walnuts and it is too good to quit eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Whisk it - that white separation will blend in completely. I removed it from the heat at 290. The temp rose a bit more. I'd flatten the cooling blob more next time. I omitted the nuts and added a 1/4 c of dark rum. If you have a silpat for your large jellyroll pan you can pour the candy onto that. I highly recommend very cautiously tasting the sauce as it cooks. That rum, sugar and buttery goodness will curl your toes it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
the mixture seperated before reaching 290. Butter to the top, sort of a curdled effect. Any suggestions?? Haven't tasted it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I am not a great cook/baker at all, and I made this toffee recipe last Christmas for my family who does not traditionally like candy. It is so wonderful and easy, we can't wait to make it this year. What makes it special is that it's not super hard and chewy, but rather it really does melt in your mouth! This is the only toffee recipe that I will use on Allrecipes.com now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I can't believe how easy this recipe was. Also, my first time attempting toffee so I looked at all of the comments and went with the "cook the sugar first, then add the butter" and it came out perfect. I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I have already passed this recipe on to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is easy, but it lacks the stamina to reach the correct temp without burning, even at a slow pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I tried making this twice and both times the toffee looked perfect but tasted like it was burned. The 2nd time it never made it to 290 degrees yet it still tasted bad. The recipe takes way too long too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
the toffee part of this recipe tastes really good, but the chocolate chip thing is just a BAD idea. no matter how we tried, we couldnt get the chocolate chips to melt to a point where we could spread them at all, and ended up with toffee with whole chocolate chips on top rather than a nice spread of chocolate. melt chocolate first before spreading maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States