Toffee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
WOWWW THis is absolutely deliciuos. Im no expert and dont have any of the fancy thermometers or what not, but i managed to make them good. :D I do agree that it doesnt come to a rolling boil, just really bubby, and the color should be nice and caramely. Also i used ghirradeli (sorry cant spell it to save my life) chocolate and it melted nicely, all i had to do was spread it around. THis is soo good. It reminds me of an almond roca... mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe has good proportions, but the method is a little off. Melt the sugar first, let it lightly caramelize, then add the butter. I can see where people were having problems because I had it too; my butter started burning before the sugar could emulsify. You'd think I'd remember the proper way to make toffee after going to school for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was easy enough, I just wasn't that crazy about the flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I experimented with this recipe several times. I found that it worked best for me if I let it reach 300 degrees on my candy thermometer, but I had to stir constantly to keep it from burning. As soon as I removed it from the burner I added 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans. I poured it onto an ungreased cookie sheet and quickly spread it out as thin as possible. I put five Hershey's chocolate bars on top and evenly spread the chocolate as soon as it melted. It does take the chocolate a long time to harden, so I usually leave the pan for hours before I break the toffee apart. A spatula will lift the candy from the pan and then it breaks apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I've made this recipe for Christmas the last 2 years and I always get rave reviews! You really have to be careful to stir CONSTANTLY and reach 290 degrees or it does not turn out..just like any candy. Every where I go I'm asked for this recipe..it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Good recipe. I live in Poland and corn syrup is hard to find so I substituted honey instead and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
the toffee part of this recipe tastes really good, but the chocolate chip thing is just a BAD idea. no matter how we tried, we couldnt get the chocolate chips to melt to a point where we could spread them at all, and ended up with toffee with whole chocolate chips on top rather than a nice spread of chocolate. melt chocolate first before spreading maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Mine didn't come out right - but I think I maybe didn't cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is easy, but it lacks the stamina to reach the correct temp without burning, even at a slow pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this without nuts and it's delicious! Very easy to burn though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States