Toffee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
WOWWW THis is absolutely deliciuos. Im no expert and dont have any of the fancy thermometers or what not, but i managed to make them good. :D I do agree that it doesnt come to a rolling boil, just really bubby, and the color should be nice and caramely. Also i used ghirradeli (sorry cant spell it to save my life) chocolate and it melted nicely, all i had to do was spread it around. THis is soo good. It reminds me of an almond roca... mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe has good proportions, but the method is a little off. Melt the sugar first, let it lightly caramelize, then add the butter. I can see where people were having problems because I had it too; my butter started burning before the sugar could emulsify. You'd think I'd remember the proper way to make toffee after going to school for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was easy enough, I just wasn't that crazy about the flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I experimented with this recipe several times. I found that it worked best for me if I let it reach 300 degrees on my candy thermometer, but I had to stir constantly to keep it from burning. As soon as I removed it from the burner I added 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans. I poured it onto an ungreased cookie sheet and quickly spread it out as thin as possible. I put five Hershey's chocolate bars on top and evenly spread the chocolate as soon as it melted. It does take the chocolate a long time to harden, so I usually leave the pan for hours before I break the toffee apart. A spatula will lift the candy from the pan and then it breaks apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I've made this recipe for Christmas the last 2 years and I always get rave reviews! You really have to be careful to stir CONSTANTLY and reach 290 degrees or it does not turn out..just like any candy. Every where I go I'm asked for this recipe..it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Good recipe. I live in Poland and corn syrup is hard to find so I substituted honey instead and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
the toffee part of this recipe tastes really good, but the chocolate chip thing is just a BAD idea. no matter how we tried, we couldnt get the chocolate chips to melt to a point where we could spread them at all, and ended up with toffee with whole chocolate chips on top rather than a nice spread of chocolate. melt chocolate first before spreading maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Mine didn't come out right - but I think I maybe didn't cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is easy, but it lacks the stamina to reach the correct temp without burning, even at a slow pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I made this without nuts and it's delicious! Very easy to burn though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States