Toffee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Omg i love this. My mum always made this for me so i gave her this recipe. Best toffee ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is the best toffee I have ever had. I made these for xmas treats and everyone loved them. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Please DO NOT use a 13x9 pan for this! I've always used a cookie sheet for toffees and brittles - this would NOT come out of the pan. At all. I am now trying to salvage my pan (glass pyrex). I followed the directions to a T - the only thing I changed was using pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
a little too crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I was craving toffee today and didn't feel like going all the way to the grocery store. Browned the sugar a little before adding the melted butter, and never had a problem with separation. I did over grease the pan, and needed to let the candy drain on paper towels for a while, but the taste and the texture is just what I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I can't believe how easy this recipe was. Also, my first time attempting toffee so I looked at all of the comments and went with the "cook the sugar first, then add the butter" and it came out perfect. I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I have already passed this recipe on to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I had lost my old recipe and this seemed to be the closest, so I gave it a try. I've made three batches and they all turned out perfect. I didn't rush and cooking and used a candy thermometer to 290 degrees. I learned one thing in the past with toffee that I would like to pass on to those having trouble with the oil and cream separating toward the end. I struggled one year with several failed batches using a recipe that I had always made successfully. It was the BUTTER. I had bought a bargain brand that was on sale. I went back to the store and bought the good stuff and no problem. Since then, I've always used the best butter I could find for toffee, and it's turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This turns out great every time. I like to use milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I did not add the chocolate. I love toffee on its own. After 15 minutes of stirring constantly my hand was tired. It got to 220 degrees. I thought what the heck, I like chewy caramel also, and quit. I poured it into the pan and had wonderful chewy toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I tried making this twice and both times the toffee looked perfect but tasted like it was burned. The 2nd time it never made it to 290 degrees yet it still tasted bad. The recipe takes way too long too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States