Toffee Crunch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These were really tasty! I couldn't find baking toffee or anything like that, so I smashed up a whole bunch of HEATH bars and used that. They came out really good - I liked how the chocolate from the HEATH bars added great flavor. I'd definitely make these again, and I won't even try to find toffee - I'll just use HEATH bars again! Oh - and I'll double the recipe next time - the original recipe only made around 14 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These were very tasty cookies...very buttery and rich tasting, without being heavy. Crisp in texture...definitely not a soft or chewy cookie. (Although when still very warm out of oven they are a little chewy.) 2 cups of toffee bits seemed really high for the amount of cookie batter it made, so I decreased to only 1 cup - and it was PLENTY! Every bite had toffee & pecan pieces. I also upped the pecans to 1/2 cup. Make sure you press down on the cookie dough after you put on cookie sheet, or you end up with tall round cookies...I flattened a little bit with my fingers and the rest came out perfectly shaped. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
UH LA LA!! How great! I took the suggestions of several reviewers & added 1/2 (milk) chocolate chips & 1/2 toffee bits. Though, it doesn't make many cookies, it's perfect for a family of two or three. This recipe is a certain keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These cookies came out AMAZING! I didn't use all the toffee chips it called for, I got a bag of Heath chips and just used that. They were good without being too sweet, and stayed soft and delicious after 2 days. One of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Those who like their cookies very buttery and on the flatter side will go crazy over these. But I wasn't all that moved...because they're very buttery and on the flatter side! (And I did chill the dough) I thought the amount of salt unnecessarily high, so I reduced it by half. I also thought the amount of toffee chips was a little much, so I subbed half of it with milk chocolate chips and loved that switch. I took the extra step of toasting the pecans, which nearly always makes for a better tasting cookie in my book. Great flavor with all that's going on in this cookie, crisp on the edges, soft but chewy on the inside. But because they're kind of thin they're not the prettiest cookie either, but again, that may just be a matter of opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
These cookies are simply wonderful. My roommate suggested frosting them. I made a thin creme cheese frosting and spread it ontop. Simply out of this world. This is a new family favorite. Thank you Andy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colfax, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I used crushed toffee candy instead of the bits. They turned out pretty good but next time I make them, I'll use the toffee bits and see if that makes a difference in how they taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
I only used 1 1/2 cups of toffee chips and used walnuts instead of pecans, but it was still wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
i love these!!!!! they only lasted a day!! i did the same and did half choc. chips. My family was fighting over the last two! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzy30022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
a great base recipe. I made it twice, the first time with half choc chips and half toffee, and extra cocoa. The second time just with choc chips and mint flavor. They were SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States