Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
If you cook the cheesecake only an hour - it will NOT work and will run all over. We did this without looking at the other reviews! We had to throw most of it out as it did not set. Also, you NEED to let this COOL at least 24 hours (found this out the hard way too). What I did when I cooked it the second time - I used a 10 inch springform, I cooked it at the 400 for 20 minutes and then I cooked it at 235 degrees for an 1 hour and 35 minutes and it came out perfect. I took everyone's suggestions - I put some toffee in the cheesecake, and saved some chocolate for on TOP of the cheesecake. I had one SMALL crack, and the chocolate hid it, and then I topped with toffee bar bits. I made this for someone's birthday at work. Everyone said it was the best cheesecake they have ever had and they all told me their birthday's and begged me to make it for theirs. I work with one lady who bakes all the time, and she said she was throwing out her cheesecake recipe and wanted this one. It's sure to please if cooked all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Second time I've made this & won Grand Prize at Local contest. Found that these modifications make it a winner. First layer is too mcuh so use just half the amount of caramel & choc mixture then fold chopped toffee bits into cheesecake mxtr b4 pouring into crust (that way it actually has toffee chunks!). Bake at 425 for 20 mins then 250 for 1 hr+ (total for me was 1hr 10 mins). Use water bath and check center w/inst read therm for 160-165 degrees and will be perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURAOUDINOT
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Rich and delicious! I posted a photo at the end of the recipe. This cheesecake is a beauty! I used chocolate wafers for the crust and drizzeled 1/3 of the caramel mixture on top prior to topping with toffee bars. I used 3 Skor bars over bottom caramel mixture, 3 bars folded into cream cheese and 3 bars on top. Baked for time allotted in recipe then turned oven off and let cake remain in oven for an additional hour. It came out PERFECT! * Tips at end of recipe were very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
TEN STARS! This was the MOST wonderful cheesecake I've ever made, and I make lots of cheesecakes! I followed another reviewers suggestions and some of my own and did the following: (1) Used a 10inch springform pan (it filled it all the way to the top). (2) Reserved 1/4 choc-carmel sauce for topping (had to warm it up before drizzling over top). (3) Mixed about double the amount of toffee chips into the cheesecake batter instead of putting them on top of the choc-carmel sauce layer. (4) Cooked the entire time at 225 until the internal temp reached 160-165 (If your temp doesn't reach this range, the interior of the cake will be uncooked all the way and will appear sloshy). (5) You'll have to bake longer than the 1 hour suggested - mine took over 2 hours at this temp. Next time I'll try raising the temp to 250 so I'm not waiting so long. These tips really made a difference. I also used about double the amount of toffee chips on top of the cheesecake than what the recipe called for. It is a beautiful cheesecake and the taste is amazing. Definitely water bath the cake while baking - it really does help. Thanks for a fabulous post! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! Many even said it was the best cheesecake they have EVER had! I used a chocolate cookie crumb crust, 8 Skor bars and drizzled melted caramel and melted milk chocolate over the top to make it look 'finished'. I also baked it for 2 hours instead of the one hour that the recipe calls for. I recommend it be refrigerated for 24 hours before eating and you cut it only when it is extremely cold to avoid crumbling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I took the advice from others and used a 10 in pan. I also used half the caramel/chocolate mixture on top of the crust and then the remainder on the top of the cheesecake. I folded some of the crumbles in the cheesecake mixture, but it could have used even more. Suggestions: Use more than 2 cups of wafers for the crust if using a 10 inch pan. Also the back time for me was around a total of 2 hours and it turned out great. Use as much toffee bar as you can, the more you use the better it will taste. Overall, it was worth the time and effort. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
If I could give this more than five stars, I would. Oh, my, this was soooo good! I did take some other people's advice and used only half the chocolate/caramel mixture in the bottom, used a 10" springform pan, and it did take about two hours to bake. I've also never put a cheesecake in a water bath, but I think it made all the difference. My hubby liked this so much he actually took a picture of it - don't ask me why. Anyhow, thank you very much for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Incredible cheesecake, thank you for sharing the recipe Nancy!!! I took this to an out of balance potluck (there were only 2 entrees a few side dishes and the rest were desserts) yet this dessert went first!! Like others I did make changes: 10 1/2" spring form pan (cuts down cooking time)but the pan was so large I did not do a bath--Ijust put a pan of water underneath and there were NO cracks, put 4 bars in cake mixture-3 on top, put 1/2 carmel/chocolate mixture over crust--half on top with 3 crushed candy bars, and last--I bake it at 350o for a half hour then turned the heat down to 250 to finish for about 1 1/2 hours--cooking it slower reduces the chance of cracks. Simply wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I used a whole 250g box of vanilla wafers for the crust and exactly 50 caramels for the sauce. And as per reviewers suggestions, 1)I used a larger (9 1/2 inch) springform pan. 2)I used 3 1/2 skor bars instead of 3 and mixed it in the cheesecake batter rather than under it. (I still used pieces from 3 bars for the top though) 3)I put 3/4 of the sauce on the crust and used the other 1/4 for drizzling over the top and sides of the cake. 4)I used a thermometer to get the internal temperature between 160 and 165 degrees and it took 1 hour and 45 minutes at 225 degrees rather than the 1 hour listed in the recipe. It came out perfect in every way and everyone was so impressed they were taking pictures of it. Thanks to Nancy and the reviewers for making this my favorite cheesecake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Good enough to go on a graham cracker crust with no candy or chocolate if you'd like. I needed to cook for 2 hours at 225 instead of one -- the first one was raw! Also, I also recommend you put the toffee chunks in the batter so it really is "chunk toffee cheesecake"! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States