Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Fantastic recipe! It is a bit of work but well worth it. I did make a few small changes. I also mixed the skor bars peices with the filling and saved some of the caramel mixture for a garnish. I only tried a water bath one other time with terrible results, so i just baked it at 400 for 15 minutes and for another hour and a half at 225. It did crack, but i preferred cracked to runny. The reviews were very helpful. Try it, you won't be sorry. Everyone is asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
SOOO YUMMY!!! Taste, texture, presentation, all 5 stars!!! It's worth the time and labor, and this is the one and only dish I'll ever make for special occasions. I made it for the 1st time for my valentine's work party and everyone loved it!!! I only used 3/4 of the choc/caramel mix in the crust, mixed 4 skor bar toffee chunks into the cream cheese as recommended and did the water bath. My oven runs alot HOTTER than most, so I kept a really watchful eye. Baked at 350F/15 min, then 200F/1 hr, then 225F/30 min and it was perfect w/ light brown top and (hurray!) no cracks! Cooled 3 hrs and after chilling, I added 4 skor toffee chunks on top and drizzled remaining 1/4 choc/caramel mixture over top and on the edges of the plate. A BEAUTIFUL work of art! Tried to save time by peeling werther's caramels the night before but they ended up melting into a huge blob even in the fridge. Will try 10 inch pan next time b/c it was to the brim. Could not stop myself from snacking on the toffee chunks :-) What a great recipe, and it wouldn't have turned out so well if not for the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Great taste but I had a problem with mine firming up in the middle. I cooked it longer than the recipe required and placed it in the fridge but it never firmed up. Although it still tasted great. Next time I'll use more toffee chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I will definitely try this one again. I followed the recipe as directed. The end result was delicious but a bit on the runny side. Also, the pan seemed to almost overflow!!! I'd try it in a 10 inch springform next time instead of the 9 inch. I think it would give it just that little bit of extra room it needed. Next time, I'd try baking it longer and try the toffee pieces mixed in with the cheesecake. I'd also drizzle the top with chocolate and caramel to make it even prettier than it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Great cheesecake. I took advise on putting the toffee pieces in the creamcheese and cooked it longer. It got a 5 star rating at Chrismas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marqueta Martinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! Many even said it was the best cheesecake they have EVER had! I used a chocolate cookie crumb crust, 8 Skor bars and drizzled melted caramel and melted milk chocolate over the top to make it look 'finished'. I also baked it for 2 hours instead of the one hour that the recipe calls for. I recommend it be refrigerated for 24 hours before eating and you cut it only when it is extremely cold to avoid crumbling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Good enough to go on a graham cracker crust with no candy or chocolate if you'd like. I needed to cook for 2 hours at 225 instead of one -- the first one was raw! Also, I also recommend you put the toffee chunks in the batter so it really is "chunk toffee cheesecake"! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Second time I've made this & won Grand Prize at Local contest. Found that these modifications make it a winner. First layer is too mcuh so use just half the amount of caramel & choc mixture then fold chopped toffee bits into cheesecake mxtr b4 pouring into crust (that way it actually has toffee chunks!). Bake at 425 for 20 mins then 250 for 1 hr+ (total for me was 1hr 10 mins). Use water bath and check center w/inst read therm for 160-165 degrees and will be perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
You're right...it does take a little time but oh is it worth it!! I brought it to work today and everyone fussed over it. It definitely looks like it came from a bakery. I wasn't sure of the water bath but it worked just fine. Wait to make sure it has cooled before taking it out of the pan. Mine cracked a little, though not hindering it's sinfulness!! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I make cheesecakes as a business, and this one is, by far, the most requested. It's one of my favorites too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States