Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Excellent cheesecake! However, at least for me, the baking time was off. My middle was a little goopy and my oven is pretty accurate. I think I'll just have to bake it longer. Still, everyone raved about it that tried it at Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I undercooked this a bit and it was still amazingly good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was pretty good, but not awesome. I would not mix the Heath bits into the actual cheesecake again, didn't feel that you could actually distinguish and enjoy the toffee flavors. Also, make sure that you push the crust up the side of the pan. I was thinking it would be attractive to see all the layers, so I only made a bottom crust. Huge mistake. I greased the heck out of the pan in preperation for this but I still couldn't get the cheesecake out without mutilating it. Next time I would definitely make the outter edge crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I took the advice from others and used a 10 in pan. I also used half the caramel/chocolate mixture on top of the crust and then the remainder on the top of the cheesecake. I folded some of the crumbles in the cheesecake mixture, but it could have used even more. Suggestions: Use more than 2 cups of wafers for the crust if using a 10 inch pan. Also the back time for me was around a total of 2 hours and it turned out great. Use as much toffee bar as you can, the more you use the better it will taste. Overall, it was worth the time and effort. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This tasted great but was very messy and did not look great. The caramel oozed out and caused the crust to break. I followed other reviewers and put toffee pieces into the batter-- I used 3 bars but I think it needed more to seem like "toffee chunk". I used chocolate cookies for the crust. I drizzled extra chocolate sauce on top. I didn't really like the caramel layer either and probably would have liked this just as much without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This cheesecake is absolutely amazing. I don't personally do sugar, so i made a sugar free/ crustless cheesecake and it was still the best cheesecake i have ever made. My modifications: substituted splenda for sugar, used russell stover sugar free toffee- also used the caramels melted on top of the cheesecake, did not add the white flour. Like the others, I added my toffee chunks into the batter. Just WOW- yummy and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Incredible cheesecake, thank you for sharing the recipe Nancy!!! I took this to an out of balance potluck (there were only 2 entrees a few side dishes and the rest were desserts) yet this dessert went first!! Like others I did make changes: 10 1/2" spring form pan (cuts down cooking time)but the pan was so large I did not do a bath--Ijust put a pan of water underneath and there were NO cracks, put 4 bars in cake mixture-3 on top, put 1/2 carmel/chocolate mixture over crust--half on top with 3 crushed candy bars, and last--I bake it at 350o for a half hour then turned the heat down to 250 to finish for about 1 1/2 hours--cooking it slower reduces the chance of cracks. Simply wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
WOW! This cheesecake was amazing. Very rich and very pleasing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Everyone loved it. It took longer to cook, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This is a beautiful delicious cheesecake. Took advise from some of the other review and added the crushed candy bar to the cake - the chocolate/carmel part is awesome. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States