Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was my first ever cheeesecake. It came out fabulous. I had to up the bake time. It was hard to tell when it was done because it was still jiggly. I made it for a party and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
If I could give this more than five stars, I would. Oh, my, this was soooo good! I did take some other people's advice and used only half the chocolate/caramel mixture in the bottom, used a 10" springform pan, and it did take about two hours to bake. I've also never put a cheesecake in a water bath, but I think it made all the difference. My hubby liked this so much he actually took a picture of it - don't ask me why. Anyhow, thank you very much for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Awesome cheesecake, very filling. Had to cook a lot longer than the recipe called for, but definetly satisfied everyone's sweet tooth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This cheesecake is awesome! Be sure to melt the caramels slowly . . . one time when I made it (too fast I guess) the caramel layer was so hard, the cake wouldn't even cut with a huge, sharp knife. We had to eat just he cream cheese layer that time, very disappointing. But when it is done right, there is nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Excellent....although I did have a few problems, I think they were due to my errors/modifications. I used 3 low fat, 1 fat free cream cheese, 5 whole eggs, and substituted fat free evaporated milk for the cream (the last of which I don't think caused the problem). I saved some of the caramel mixture for drizzling on top (yummy) and used a chocolate graham crust. Altogether, it tasted fabulous, it just cracked substantially and was mushy in the middle (possibly undercooked, but it was not jiggly when I took it out, it just basically turned into mush in the center when I cut it). Still, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I hate to go against the grain here but I was really disappointed with this cheescake. It was just okay. The finished product was not worth the time, effort or expense to make. I took it to a family dinner and there was TONS left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This cheesecake is absolutely awesome!!! However, like so many of the other reviews said, the center was not even close to set on mine. Needs a lot more baking time. Also, I found I had WAY too much to fit into my 9" pan and will use my 10" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Not bad, but that melted caramel/chocolate all over the bottom makes it way too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful cheesecake. Very dense and rich. The chocolate/caramel layer at the bottom is a little too rich for most people. Follow some of the advice and split the mixture. Also made with a oreo crust and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good--I used the Heath baking toffee pieces instead of the actual candy bars--then used the candy bars for the topping. Mine didn't set up well but I used whole eggs instead of the yolks so that may have ben the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Gwinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States