Toffee Chunk Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was my first ever cheeesecake. It came out fabulous. I had to up the bake time. It was hard to tell when it was done because it was still jiggly. I made it for a party and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
If I could give this more than five stars, I would. Oh, my, this was soooo good! I did take some other people's advice and used only half the chocolate/caramel mixture in the bottom, used a 10" springform pan, and it did take about two hours to bake. I've also never put a cheesecake in a water bath, but I think it made all the difference. My hubby liked this so much he actually took a picture of it - don't ask me why. Anyhow, thank you very much for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Awesome cheesecake, very filling. Had to cook a lot longer than the recipe called for, but definetly satisfied everyone's sweet tooth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This cheesecake is awesome! Be sure to melt the caramels slowly . . . one time when I made it (too fast I guess) the caramel layer was so hard, the cake wouldn't even cut with a huge, sharp knife. We had to eat just he cream cheese layer that time, very disappointing. But when it is done right, there is nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Excellent....although I did have a few problems, I think they were due to my errors/modifications. I used 3 low fat, 1 fat free cream cheese, 5 whole eggs, and substituted fat free evaporated milk for the cream (the last of which I don't think caused the problem). I saved some of the caramel mixture for drizzling on top (yummy) and used a chocolate graham crust. Altogether, it tasted fabulous, it just cracked substantially and was mushy in the middle (possibly undercooked, but it was not jiggly when I took it out, it just basically turned into mush in the center when I cut it). Still, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I hate to go against the grain here but I was really disappointed with this cheescake. It was just okay. The finished product was not worth the time, effort or expense to make. I took it to a family dinner and there was TONS left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This cheesecake is absolutely awesome!!! However, like so many of the other reviews said, the center was not even close to set on mine. Needs a lot more baking time. Also, I found I had WAY too much to fit into my 9" pan and will use my 10" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Not bad, but that melted caramel/chocolate all over the bottom makes it way too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful cheesecake. Very dense and rich. The chocolate/caramel layer at the bottom is a little too rich for most people. Follow some of the advice and split the mixture. Also made with a oreo crust and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good--I used the Heath baking toffee pieces instead of the actual candy bars--then used the candy bars for the topping. Mine didn't set up well but I used whole eggs instead of the yolks so that may have ben the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Gwinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States